We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive £50 credit !
Ranked #22 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Abergwili, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Five of us stayed at this hotel for one night and it lived up to its star rating. The staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were large, sumptuous, quiet, with comfortable beds. Buffet breakfast that catered to everybody's needs. Although the hotel was undergoing some refurbishment with the pool and spa out of action, courtesy taxis took you back and for to the nearby 5 star Scotsman Hotel where you could take advantage of their facilities. The refurbishment activities certainly did not affect the quality of our stay. If I was coming back to Edinburgh and wanted to stay in hotel with a bit of grandeur, style and comfort then this is where I would choose to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    611
    275
    93
    36
    10
See reviews for
194
480
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EDINBURGH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Out and about today we decided to drop in to the Caley Hotel (now a Waldorf Hotel) and check out the new lounge area. What a delightful experience considering it used to be a part of the Caledonian Station. We bagged a comfortable seat and ordered a couple of drinks. The snack menu would have been our preference but this wasn't served until after 5:00 p.m. Instead we opted for a "Waldorf" salad at around £11. What a disappointment - the size of the salad would only have passed for a starter size anywhere else - a nibble would be the best way to describe it. Our total bill for a large glass of white wine, apple juice and 2 "Waldorf" salads over £35.00. What a rip-off!! We don't think we will make the same mistake again!! Tip for the Waldorf - take a walk along Princes Street to the Balmoral Hotel (another first class establishment) and have a look at their menus in the lounge.

The refurbishment of the Caley is worth a visit, but don't repeat the mistake that we made by sampling their lounge menu. Someone should tell them there is a recession on in this country and it is almost criminal to charge the prices that they are asking!!

Is £3.75 for a cup of coffee reasonable in this economic climate?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. I am delighted to read your positive comments with regards to the completion of our recent refurbishment. On the other hand, we shall also take your feedback into consideration following your experience in our 'Peacock Alley' area. Obviously as this is a new menu, we appreciate your honesty, and rest assured your comments shall be shared with our food & beverage departent, including our head chef, and we shall review our pricing structure accordingly to the size of the dish served.

Moreover, I do hope that this does not deter you from returning to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Recently refurbished,luved colour scheme of bedroom,heating in room not working,given a heater that night,sorted the next day.
Older member of staff in lounge was informative and funny,what every hotel should have.
Only negative please change your black pudding at breakfast,dry and tasteless.
Looking forward to next shopping in Edinburgh,will stay at Astoria

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am extremely happy to see that you were satisfied with your overall experience with us. However I will certainly pass on your feedback on our black pudding to our head chef!

Moreover, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed one night with our family, and were delighted with the atmosphere and accommodations. The staff was especially caring and helpful. The hotel is centrally located, just a short walk to Princes Street, shopping, and restaurants. The breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you had an extremely exciting experience with us, and I do hope that you are able to return to the 'Caley' again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walforf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.