We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One

Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One
75 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DR, Scotland
0131 624 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #86 of 203 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Home to Scotland’s outstanding national collection of modern and contemporary art, the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art comprises two buildings, Modern One and Modern Two.Set in beautiful parkland close to the Water of Leith you can explore sculpture by major artists such as Ian Hamilton Finlay, Henry Moore, Rachel Whiteread and Barbara Hepworth, and discover the dramatic lawn at the front of the building, designed by landscape architect, Charles Jencks.The collection at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art ranges from 1900s to the present day, including works by Matisse, Picasso, Vuillard and Dix, as well as a superb selection of paintings by Scottish artists such as Peploe, Fergusson, Gillies and Redpath. Also on display are postwar works by Bacon, Freud, Davie, Hockney and Leger and more recent pieces by Turner prize winning artists Richard Wright and Martin Creed, alongside Karla Black, Douglas Gordon and Tracey Emin to name a few.
Ayr
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Handy for parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

You can park here and then get the free bus into the National Gallery in Princes Street. Pleasant building and setting. Some good touring exhibitions but not worth a visit to Edinburgh

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    13
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fife , Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Favourite Edinburgh Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Would recommend this gallery to any visitor to Edinburgh interested in modern Art . By far it has the finest collection of Scottish art in the world and is a set in beautiful grounds in a fabulous building. The cafe down stairs is well worth a visit and great for lunch. Slightly out of the town centre but well worth the taxi ride

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I generally review restaurants, not galleries; however I particularly enjoy my visits here. Always a strong selection of contemporary works on display and the cafe always has some fantastic cakes to round off a visit. :) Jenck's Landform is a highlight.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Nomad
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the best modern art museums I've been too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of the best modern art museums I've been too. Lots of interesting stuff to look at for anyone from any walk of life.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, good art - bonuses whichever is your reason for going!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The first time we had lunch in the cafeteria in the basement of the main gallery was a good number of years ago and I confess to having three portions of carrot cake it was so moist and delicious - I had to stop at three pieces for fear of drawing attention to myself.
I will say that it's still as good!

On offer is a range of hot and cold dishes including soup filled sandwiches and mains to suit both veggies and carnivors.

What was a wonderful combination on this visit was a ciabatta filled with a combination of cheese, ham and some kind of mostardo with sald tucked in for good measure - the combination was absolutely wonderful and for me beat the proverbial out of a BLT.

A range of wines

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One to your Saves list