We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly no cake for us!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant

The Gateway Restaurant
Arboretum Place, Edinburgh EH3 5LR, Scotland (Stockbridge)
+44 131 552 2674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,015 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: European, Scottish, International, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Stockbridge
Description: Located within the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh, home to Scotland's national collection of plants and a world leading centre in the research of flora and botanicals. The 160 seat restaurant is a bustling and airy space with stunning views out into the Garden and complete with outside seating for 40. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea the restaurant is a popular destination for special occasions including Christmas and family events. Children welcome and booking always recommended.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Sadly no cake for us!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We dined here for lunch which was generally a good experience, the staff are pleasant, but you do have to keep asking them for any requests you may have as they pass your table. We enjoyed a main course and after browsing the desert list, there wasn't anything we fancied, however, we asked if they had any cakes. The waiter (youngish lad) responded that they do have cakes but they are only brought out later in the afternoon, we asked if we could have a cake, but sadly we weren't allowed a cake, as it was an hour earlier than they bring out the cakes...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayRestaurant, General Manager at The Gateway Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your comments and your observations, we fully understand and empathise with your frustrations as recorded on your recent visit to the Gateway Restaurant when looking for cakes instead of the desserts on offer, please accept our apologies that you were unable on this occasion to have cake.

The waiter who served you was correct that we do have cakes available as served within our Afternoon Tea service each day from 2.30pm, however, he should have responded that he would check on the availability of these for you at the earlier time requested as we cannot always guarantee their availability over lunchtime. In most cases our kitchen would be able to provide them as requested, but only if the waiter or waitress first made that enquiry.

On receipt of your comments we have briefed our team to take a more proactive approach to dealing with such requests and not simply provide a rigid and unaccommodating response, as the one experienced by yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant in the future and similarly look forward to meeting your expectation for cake or any other choices which we are able to provide.

Kind regards

The Gateway Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    17
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing particularly given the superb quality of the gardens”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This restaurant has got progressively worse over the course of the last year and no one seems to care. Against my better judgement we tried afternoon tea today after a walk in the splendid gardens. The restaurant was virtually empty yet the service was pathetically slow. Tea arrived eventually but staff had to be reminded about the scones ordered and when they arrived they were anything but fresh. A child at a nearby table threw the pepper grinder on the floor (was he also fed up with the service?). Staff cleared and wiped the table after they left but the the peppercorns remained scattered across the floor totally ignored. We witnessed two couples leaving after waiting for over 10 minutes on the terrace to be served. A manager was in evidence but she simply watched them depart. She certainly didn't give the staff the kick up the [--] they require. The caterer needs to be removed and a new contract entered which provides a quality service commensurate with the surroundings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayRestaurant, Manager at The Gateway Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer
It is obvious from your comments that your experience with us has been on this and previous occasions well below the standard which you and we would hope for. Please accept our apologies for what seems to have been a far from polished performance by the staff working on the day of your visit.

Your comments have been discussed and reviewed with all our team and actions are in place to make sure that your observations as highlighted are acted upon going forward. We are genuinely embarrassed by comments which suggest that our team have an uncaring or feckless attitude toward providing good and effective service and please be assured that this is not how we wish to be seen.

You mentioned that our scones were "far from fresh" on the day of your visit and we are at a loss as to how that might be the case, as our scones are made fresh each day, nevertheless, please also accept our apologies for these evidently not meeting your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you choose to return to us in the future, that your next visit will be a far improved one.

Kind regards

The Gateway Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Reliable venue for family lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We eat here quite often over the course of the year as it is so accommodating of families. Its nice to lunch here then walk it off in the gardens. Service can be hit and miss though but, the mainly younger, staff try their best.
The menu can vary a bit (in a good way!) but tends to keep the old favourites too so something for everyone. We especially liked the carvery which they have over the winter months. The ice cream is simply the best we`ve ever tasted so its hard to choose desserts away from that but the other puddings can also be rewarding if we can force ourselves to change!
We`ve never had afternoon tea there but have seen others tucking in to loaded cake trays so they look promising too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayRestaurant, Manager at The Gateway Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about The Gateway Restaurant. We try to have something for everyone and our pastry chef is delighted with your feedback about his desserts!

The winter months are drawing in so keep your eye out for our roast dinners returning soon and we hope to see you back for an afternoon tea in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One experience of their Full Scottish Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The first time I'd eaten in this restaurant (last weekend) and arranged purely to meet up with friends, I'd no expectations of the food here. Perhaps the surprise element contributed to this being one of the best cooked breakfasts I've had. Well-balanced and not overwhelming in quantity, it consisted of: Ayrshire back bacon (nicely char-grilled), black pudding by Hornig's of West Lothian, haggis, grilled tomato, field mushroom, a plump pork sausage, tattie (potato) scone, free-range egg which I had poached, tea/coffee, toast. It was £10.95. The first round of hot drinks took quite a while to arrive but after that the service speeded up. The Botanic Gardens is a beautiful place in all seasons and based on a sample of one experience of the restaurant where I'd only previously had coffee, I'd recommend the breakfast in the Gateway Restaurant which is the one upstairs at the West Gate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayRestaurant, Manager at The Gateway Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our full cooked breakfast and restaurant. Now you have sampled our breakfast there is only lunch and afternoon tea to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rojales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disapponting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

had a meal here at lunchtime today...fish and chips with peas £8.50 turned out to be a tiny piece of frozen fish, mushy peas (which I hate) stale salad garnish, a handful of chips (which were very good) and the fish and salad were served on a wooden board!!!!!!..service was TERRIBLE...we had to ask for the table to be cleared, nobody came to us about dessert which we didn't have in the end and we had to tell them that the money was left on the table

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.