We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Chatty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Filmhouse

The Filmhouse
88 Lothian Road, Edinburgh EH3 9BZ, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)
44-131-228-2688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 203 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A small, three-screened theater playing Scotland's most innovative independent films.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Convenient and Chatty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just a great old place to hook up with mates - even if you're not coming to the cinema. Gets packed at times, but if you bear it for a bit you might just suddenly find everyone disappeared into the cinema! Come for a cuppa, for a drink or a delicious hot meal!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    42
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good café, cool Borgen-event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice place for a quiet and cultural lunch, a good movie og maybe an event like the Borgen-screening with Sidse Babett Knudsen that I went to. Loved the place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I attend every year for the Dead by Dawn film festival. Love the venue and it has a really nice restauant/bar area. It is also a great place to pop into for a drink and/or snack if in the area as the children are welcome. Only complaint..no popcorn!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lawrence of Arabia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Filmhouse does not just screen mainstream film releases but also more obscure and older films which are so much better seen on the big screen rather than the telly. The bar and cafe are also a relaxed venue to meet and drink with friends.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most wonderful time of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the best day of my entire life. We went to see pocahontas with my 2 little cherubs, it was lovely. The film was incredible and we had a delightful time, afterwards we went for some food and all snuggled together. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a day out with their precious princesses x

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filmhouse also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Filmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Filmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Filmhouse to your Saves list