We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lawrence of Arabia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Filmhouse

The Filmhouse
88 Lothian Road, Edinburgh EH3 9BZ, Scotland (West End)
44-131-228-2688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 42 Fun & Games in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small, three-screened theater playing Scotland's most innovative independent films.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lawrence of Arabia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Filmhouse does not just screen mainstream film releases but also more obscure and older films which are so much better seen on the big screen rather than the telly. The bar and cafe are also a relaxed venue to meet and drink with friends.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most wonderful time of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the best day of my entire life. We went to see pocahontas with my 2 little cherubs, it was lovely. The film was incredible and we had a delightful time, afterwards we went for some food and all snuggled together. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a day out with their precious princesses x

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great movies & setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I love this cinema. I went to see The Raiders of The Lost Ark here and it was the perfect setting. Plus you can get a drink from the bar while watching! :0)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“what a delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

just went to see " It's a wonderful life ". What a lovely venue! It was "wonderful" to see this film on the big screen. Although the cinema is small, when compared to the big cinemas, it was vwery comfortable, and indeed very busy! I had recently went to the Omni cinema and there was only 8 people in it!
Do not ignore this cinema, it has a lovely bistro for well priced meals and makes a refreshing change from those sterile multiplex places

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic for food and films”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just how the cinema shoud be - cheap and delicious food in the cafe, great selection of DVDs, fairtrade chocolate in the vending machines, and wine to take into the comfy and beautiful screens. Great staff, brilliant selection of films both blockbuster and arthouse. Cheap too! Friday matinees for students cheaper than a coffee :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filmhouse also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Filmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Filmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.