We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princes Street Gardens

Princes Street Gardens
Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2HG, Scotland (Princes Street and Gardens)
0131 529 7921
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Princes Street Gardens like an insider
Top Rated
$22*
and up
City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #11 of 460 things to do in Edinburgh
Activities: Golfing, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Impeccably landscaped park and woodland surrounding Edinburgh Castle.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A true oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city centre then fall into the idyllic peace that is princes street gardens, you can't and shouldn't miss it. If you have young ones then the play park at the west end of it is a hit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,616
    891
    140
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the madness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

While in Edinburgh for the festival we took some 'time out' for a walk and short sit down in the gardens. Despite most of the city being busy (not overly though considering its festival time) we had a lovely walk and rest in the gardens - they are beautiful!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A walk in the paark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Princess street gardens are a joy to walk through, especially at summer time. A pleasant afternoon was spent by my wife and myself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“seagulls”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

walking in the lovely gardens ,,, my grandson was attacked by the numerous seagulls that have taken over Edinburgh ,,,, do not eat or have food in your hand whilst these flying rats are around .
I won't be back ,,,, so how will the tourists feel ???
Edinburgh council you need to do something !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled on this as we were walking. What a beautiful little space. We loved it! Great to sit around and picnic or just people watch. One of the most beautiful places I've been

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princes Street Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Princes Street Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princes Street Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.