We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Giles Cathedral

St. Giles Cathedral
Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1RE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)
0131 225 9442
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #25 of 205 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Religious Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the main church of The Church of Scotland.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Is easy to get to and once you're inside it's beautiful and peaceful. Worth paying £2 for a photo permit because the stained glass windows are stunnin!. There is also a little cafe in the basement.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    302
    84
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

beautiful building, amazing stained glasses and the outside surrounding deserves a closer look too! With a guide tour through the area you get to know amazing things about the Cathedral and what's around.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A nice cathedral... nothing too much on the exterior but the interior is definitely amazing! Love the stained glass and the structure and everything about it on the inside. My friends and I found it very beautiful. We just walked around and sat down just to rest and take it in the atmosphere. I bought some postcards to support the shop located inside - felt quite nice to write to my parents from inside this cathedral!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Shows the soul of Scottish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is the main cathedral of The Church of Scotland and have beautiful stained glasses and many other furniture and sculptures composing the ambient, but the oddest thing I saw there was the names of battles and heros on the walls, so it shows the soul of Scottish, their warrior soul.
The worship of God and heros in wars are associated in this church and explain a lot...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but austere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very impressive in its simple beauty. We went late in the day and I don't know if they have guided tours or not, we just walked around. There is very little signage other that the placards requiring you to pay a fee is you wish to take pictures. We would have loved an audio tour.
The windows are fantastic and overall I would recommend a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Giles Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Giles Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Giles Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.