We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you spend enough time here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Giles Cathedral

St. Giles Cathedral
Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1RE, Scotland (Old Town)
0131 225 9442
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$46*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal...
Ranked #24 of 476 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: St Giles’ Cathedral is the historic City Church of Edinburgh. With its famed crown spire it stands on the Royal Mile between Edinburgh Castle and the Palace of Holyroodhouse. Also known as the High Kirk of Edinburgh, it is the Mother Church of Presbyterianism and contains the Chapel of the Order of the Thistle (Scotland’s chivalric company of knights headed by the Queen).
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Make sure you spend enough time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were very pressed for time in Edinburgh and only managed a 30 minute visit to St. Giles. That was a mistake, as there is enough to see in this beautiful cathedral to take up at least an hour or more.
We gladly paid the 2L photo fee and happily snapped away at the stunning gothic architecture. In our opinion, this was just as worthwhile as Westminster Abbey, but well more beautiful.
Should be on your top 5 to-do list in Edinburgh.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    629
    139
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Cathedral has gone the way of so many others ,it's a tourist attraction not a church any more ,unfortunately when we visited the floor hating was being put in which didn't help ,however there was no where really to sit and meditate for a few minutes and it has fallen so low people were walking around with hats on I couldn't get out quick enough

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went inside, curious. Although not a religious person, I enjoy the archiecture of religious buildings. St Giles did not disappoint. A photopass was 2 pounds sterling, which I gladly paid because there was so much to take pictures off. The Thistle Chapel is not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Full of curiosities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Been a few times and still haven't seen everything. Particularly impressed by the organ which was made by a Scandinavian builder and has modern tracker action, part of which may be viewed from the console - but you have to book and ask; it's not generally on view to the public. Full of history - ask about the Chapel of the Thistle, and the carillon - which is an assembly of bells quite unlike the usual rope-driven belfry.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“St Giles at Six”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

St Giles is a wonderful, stunning building its 'Crown' dominates the Royal Mile. I like to try and get to St Giles on a Sunday evening when I visit Edinburgh. Called St Giles at Six it is open to anyone you can come and sit down to a concert for nearly an hour. The concert is free and there is a collecting plate afterwards but you are not forced to contribute. Look on the website for details as they vary the Sunday after I came back home was a choir. The evening I went was an organ recital and it was lovely to just sit back and let the music and atmosphere soak through me.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Giles Cathedral also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to St. Giles Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Giles Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.