We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle
, Edinburgh EH12NG, Scotland (Old Town)
+44 131 225 9846
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$26*
and up
Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #10 of 288 things to do in Edinburgh
Activities: Walking, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A mighty fortress, the defender of the nation, and a world-famous visitor attraction - Edinburgh Castle has dominated the skyline for centuries. And the high volcanic rock on which it stands has been occupied for thousands of years. Today it is home to Scotland's crown jewels, three military museums, the Scottish National War Memorial, the Prisons of War exhibition, and much more.The castle offers a fabulous day out - an experience not to be missed. Book online with us for fast track tickets to beat the queues!
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent nearly all day in the Castle, there was plenty to see and explore. Luckily we picked Prince Charles' birthday so we had a 21 gun salute as well, but it would be a great venue any day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,860
    4,755
    1,629
    363
    116
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My partner and I were very disappointed with Edinburgh Castle. There is very little actual history left of the castle because the buildings and rooms have been modernised (the oldest I think we saw were from the1800s). This is a shame because we were expecting to see very old parts of the castle. Most of the rooms inside the buildings were rather modern (some even with modern pipework and plasterboard showing!). There are a lot of military museums which were of no interest and actually not really relevant to the castle. There are a lot of overpriced gift shops (at least 3) and I think 2 cafes. Obviously Edinburgh Castle is just a money making tourist trap. It was not worth paying £14.50 each to see very little history. The audio books were an additional £3.50 each and the Guide around £4.50 (I'm pleased we didn't also pay for these - the audio guide should at least be included in the expensive entrance fee). The best thing about the castle was the views overlooking the city. The castle itself was very poor - what a shame it hasn't been kept as it should be. My local castle (Carlisle) is much better (and cheaper) and it has been kept the way a castle should be - historial not modern! I won't be re-visiting Edinburgh Castle nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The place to go to check out Scottish history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

A step back in time. Great view of the city. The recreations of historic events were helpful to bring events to life. Recommend the audio tour to get a better sense of events.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Well, its something you have to do when visiting edinburgh i guess. Still, £29 for two was way too steep. An audio guide was £3.50 extra. Guide books are around the £6 mark. Feels like you are being turned upside down and shaken for all your money before you even set foot in the building. Then there is a full selection of gift shops built in, which detracts from the experience. This place is steeped in history, but i felt like it was all too much of a well oiled tourist machine. As for the tableaux displays leading up to the scottish crown jewels - hmmm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good to see because it's the one of the easiest access to the castle in Scotland but the price (around 14£) is not a good value at all (most of the castle in Scotland cost around 4/5£ if they are not free)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Castle also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.