We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Yacht Britannia

Royal Yacht Britannia
2nd Floor, Ocean Terminal | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
+44 131 555 5566
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 209 Attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Ships
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The UK's No. 1 Attraction (TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards 2014). Experience what life was like on board The Royal Yacht Britannia with a fascinating audio tour of five decks. Discover this floating palace that served the British Royal Family for over forty years. Highlights include the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. Complimentary audio guide in 27 languages. Open year round with free parking at Ocean Terminal. Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local bus numbers 11, 22 and 35 all run to Ocean Terminal).
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 NEW

The tour was far more that I anticipated and certainly could understand why Her Majesty was so disappointed to part with this wondeful ship. The tour is very inclusive and provides wonderful insights to the Royals. Beautiful cafe with delicious treats prepared on-board.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,128
    1,372
    231
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great afternoon out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 NEW

a fascinating insite into the Royal Family and Naval history.
The self use audio guide was very good. Tour accessibility was good however it would have been good to see the actual navigation room and radio/communication room

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
“Worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

My family visited here and found the food and staff very pleasant. Great views from eating area. Wasn't too busy when I was there so quick service.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“always an interesting tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

We regularly visit the Royal Yacht - often when we have visitors- but this time we took our 10 year old grandson. He enjoyed hearing the children's version of the tour- although he could easily have coped with the adult one. His dad is ex-navy so he knows a fair bit about ships and enjoyed seeing a different perspective on Naval life. He enjoyed getting dressed up in a uniform 'like his dad's' and standing behind the bar in the senior rates mess!! He especially liked having lunch in the restaurant. So did I - freshly made sandwiches, great iced tea - and he had the chocolate fudge cake too!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

Such a good tour. It was so interesting to see the royal quarters, but also fascinating to see the officers' and ratings' quarters, as well as the engine room. The audio guide was informative and worth listening to. Well worth taking a trip to Leith for

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Yacht Britannia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.