We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back rooms too dull and very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Back rooms too dull and very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed here a couple of times in the past, I really enjoy Travelodges you know what to expect and with many of them now being refurbished their standard has certainly improved. On this occasion unfortunately we had a back room which was really dull, it was just about bearable for the 1 night. Our room must have backed onto a pub as the noise of glass bottles being thrown into a recycle bin was really annoying. I would stay again but try to ensure that we were in a front room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    111
    32
    17
    10
See reviews for
36
105
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was easy to find few minutes walk from both Waverley and bus station - central would defentially recommend
Draw back room did not have a bath.
It was not far from conference central and princess street


  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Dalkeith
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this last year and got a great deal, £29 per night. We were staying 24th-26th March. The hotel couldnt be more central, everything in within walking distance.

Reception made checking in very easy and our room was very spacious and clean. Comfortable bed and pillows.

Will be back to stay again, cant fault it at all.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

By booking early, I got a three-night stay for £24 per night. I have stayed in Travelodges before, and as they are budget hotels, all I want for my money is a clean room, a good night's sleep and a convenient location. Waterloo Place ticked all these boxes. We had a room on the second floor (not sure I would have wanted one that is below reception level, so maybe ask for a higher floor if this is important to you), which was extremely clean and, although not that large, it was adequate as it was really only a place to sleep. The bathroom was also small, but was spotlessly clean and the shower was hot and powerful. The bins were emptied and room cleaned each day. The room was warm and quiet - it had sliding glass doors covering the original sash windows, which insulated the room well from noise, but still meant if you wanted some air you could leave the sliding door open and open the sash window about four inches. The location was superb - less that five minutes from Waverley Station, a minute from Princes Street and just a short walk across North Bridge to the Royal Mile. There is no restaurant, but to be honest, surrounded by great places to eat, from breakfast to dinner, that is not an issue. Staff were friendly and efficient, and for a three-night stay, in central Edinburgh, for two people, how can you beat £72??

Room Tip: Some rooms are below ground level, so you may want to request a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You get what you pay for. Fine for a few nights as a place to lay your head.
Stayed here with my sister - good base to see all the sights and close to shopping areas. Clean and beds very comfortable. Not a lot of storage space.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have just returned from an overnight stay at the travelodge Waterloo place Edinburgh I have visited this hotel with family and friends and always get the same excellent service, nothing is a trouble for the staff and the place is spotless with extremely comfortable beds the location is first class for sightseeing l only have one question can I take a pillow home please? Thanks to the staff for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.