We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #107 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked the Travelodge because you know what you are going to get and the standard is always good and at a reasonable price. This Travelodge was perfect for the train station and for the main shopping areas. Our room was spotless and looked as if it had recently been refurbished and of course the beds are excellent. Our room was at the front of the building but it was so quiet. The staff on reception were all very pleasant and the building felt secure. Only a minor problem with most hotels not just Travelodge's is the position of well lit mirror's for doing hair and makeup. The brightest one was in the bathroom which once you've had a shower became steamed up and you have to wait for it to clear and the only other mirror was in the bedroom which was a full length mirror but wasn't bright enough because the ceiling was very high so the lights were dim. Also the only plug sockets for using my hairdryer were those over the other side of the room where the tv was and it had to stretch across to the full length mirror as I sat on the end of the bed. As I said these are minor things and easily overcome and outweighed by the high standard of the room. This Travelodge doesn't have a restaurant so you have to go out to eat which was not a problem because the Italian restaurant Martone about 40 yards down the road did a fantastic breakfast and in the town there were plenty of restaurants and pubs to eat out at. We would recommend The Amber Rose pub for traditional english pub meals and Lloyds Bar if you want a reasonable meal and they have regular meal theme nights. Edinburgh is a magical city and there is plenty of sightseeing to be done. If you travel by bus make sure you have plenty of change and the correct money because they don't give you change. We would definitely recommend booking this Travelodge.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    71
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
22
58
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location in centre of town, close to where we wanted to be, quiet, 3 floor lower ground, big tidy room, no issues at check in, everything you expect from such an establishment, got it at a good price also.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One Travelodge is rarely different from another in terms of quality, they always do the basics with no problems at the right price.
This place has location going for it, it's a stones throw from Waverley train station and within a couple of minutes of everywhere you would want to visit in Central Edinburgh, for that reason I'd definitely use it again

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here one night, sharing a twin room with my mother. Excellent, easy to find location at the East end of Princes Street, very easy for Waverley Station, buses and the tram and bus to the airport. Check in was easy and the hotel is very secure, no access to the building at night without a key card and no access to the residential area at all without the key card.

The room (202), on the second lower ground level, was a decent size, with twin beds, only one armchair, desk, tv and large en suite shower room, fitted for full disabled access. The view from the window was of one of the back streets, but this meant it was incredibly quiet, I only heard one vehicle go past all night. Also pleasantly cool, not stuffy and the bed was wonderfully comfortable.

They don't have a restaurant for breakfast but offer to deliver ¨breakfast boxes¨, not sure what was in it, as I had to get to the airport.

All in all, you get what you pay for and this was ideal for a one night stay. No luxury but, as I put in the header, it ticked all the boxes for me. I thoroughly recommend this for a first or last night before heading off to the airport or starting your Scotland trip.

Room Tip: 202 is downstairs, overlooking a back street and practically under a road bridge, but thanks to fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you are picking a Travelodge in Edinburgh, pick this one. A super spot and a nice old building but same great prices. We even had a loggia! It was nice and clean and there are lovely breakfast places nearby and you are right in the centre of things with great views of Calton Hill and Arthur's Seat. The sheer drop at the back of the hotel shows what a weird but wonderful city Edinburgh is!

Room Tip: One facing the main road or to the left as then you get the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed overnight last night. Room small, pokey, bed uncomfortable. Friends left their room smelly, and another friend staying same hotel had his room sold on despite ore booked and prepaid. Strongly advise everyone to give this place a miss.
T S Callaghan

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was quite sceptical of staying at this hotel after reading some of the reviews. Should not have worried.
Arrived at hotel early and was greated by a very friendly lady who was more than helpful and stored our cases. When we returned to book in later, another lady dealt with us and again the lady was very helpful she give us our room key and we were allocated on the second floor which i had requested via fax. We went to the room and was very impressed with how spacious the room was. it was light airy and very clean.

After an amazing night sleep in one of the brand new king size beds we checked out.

Overall an amazing value for money hotel A++++++++++

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.