We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
Ranked #106 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
1 review
“Good Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Good location, rooms OK if a bit noisy.

Staff were awful. Reception really weren't bothered about anything and any problem you had was tough. They don't have hairdryers to lend to guests even though they advertise as having them, so you need to take your own. Had to ask for towels as none left in rooms. By far the worst Travelodge I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    63
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
16
50
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in Edinburgh Waterloo Place Travel Lodge very central. Great room very quiet and good décor size and comfort.Great Value. The Bed was very good nice size , very clean the room was spotless and well maintained, good size for the money I spent £29. Travel Lodge have certainly improved with better maintained rooms would sat here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent location, right at the end of Princes St, round the corner from the theatre, walking distance from the Royal mile, Holyrood. Travellodge - you know what to expect, it was clean and functional. Its a pain that you can't buy internet at reception.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Within a two minute walk from Waverley Street station and the Playhouse theatre. Our room was noisy at night as it faced onto Princes Street but the noise settled down. Wonderful view from room 223 right along Princes Street and it was a large family room. Hotel spotless and good value for money. Receptionists friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

So I had the room booked and paid for 2 months in advance. Chose this travelodge specifically for the location and meant we could park close by for 24 hours. Turn up at 3pm to check in only to be told there had "been a leak on our floor" and we were getting moved 3 miles out! We were then told it was ok they would get us taxis for travelling into town. Which was a 10-15 minute drive each time!! However when we told our taxi driver about the leak he kindly informed us that this type of thing happens all the time and it was probably a double booking they were trying to cover up. So basically lied to us. As we had a booking at a restaurant we went downstairs to reception 20 minutes in advance and told the receptionist where we were going, we sat for 15 minutes still no sign of the taxi.. I went up to the receptionist to ask how much longer it will be to be told she had actually forgot to phone it for us! Extremely dissapointed as that then made us half an hour late for the busy restaurant. No apologies or anything. NEVER AGAIN. Avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was concerned that it might be noisy given its location, but our room was at the back so noise was not an issue, either from inside the hotel or from the street. It might have been more of an issue in the rooms facing the front, but that would be the same in any of the city centre hotels. Very clean, friendly staff, couldn't be more central, ideal budget hotel for a couple of nights stay if you just want somewhere to sleep at night

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelodges are basic - this hotel is no different. You're a short walk to Princes Street, (and a tram stop now which would take you to the airport), The Royal Mile, etc. 5-10 min walk from Waverley Station if you go out of the station past up the escalators and past the shopping center rather than up the main ramp. Facilities are basic (and no free wifi) - but you get tea and a kettle in the room and there are plenty of shops/eats nearby and the location is great. We booked well in advance and had a nights stay for 2 for <£40. Bargain.

Room Tip: We were at the front on the 1st floor - the secondary glazing kept the street noise to a minimum. Mi...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.