We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant location even better price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“brilliant location even better price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wanted to visit Rosslyn chapel near Edinburgh but because of Commonwealth Games all the hotel prices were sky high, I wasn't really fuzzy about the date so was really pleased to secure a double room in the heart of Edinburgh for only £49-50. I was delighted large comfortable room 2 mins walk from train station and ideally located for all Edinburgh amenities

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
24
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed in this Travelodge overnight and found it very comfortable, clean, and it was just at the end of Princes Street, right in the city centre.I only paid £38 for the room which is such good value for two people to stay in Edinburgh, with everything on hand. I would definitely go there again and I always stay in a Travelodge when I travel in the UK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for getting in and around Edinburgh.
Room was smelly of stale water and ridiculously hot. No a/c nor portable fans and the restricted opening of the windows does not help. Room is a bit noisey overnight due to central location. We were given keys to a room someone was already staying in...embarrassing to say the least!! They aren't generous with towels either so you will need to ask for more. The wifi is hit and miss depending on where you are in the hotel. Don't go to room 321 if you want a good nights sleep. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location , close to all amenities. Rooms really nice and clean, and beds really comfy. Great place to stay to get about and see the sights. Shops, restuarants,close by, as is bus and train station. Definately return.

Room Tip: Late check out £10 great idea ,as is early check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled to Edinburgh on a Superbreak deal with first class train travel from doncaster return.

The room was clean and quiet and just did the job we spent most of our time walking round Edinburgh and Leith.

The hotel allows takeaway deliveries to the room if you inform them prior to the takeaway arriving.
Usual Travelodge standards.

5 minutes walk from Waverley Station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth And Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Two minutes from railway station .Excellent room.Would benefit from A/C.Noise from outside in small hours.Had to have window open due to heat in room.Wouldn't stop us staying there again though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Generally when we arrived the staff were very pleasant and helpful and gave us all the information we needed for our stay. We stayed for a week and they offered us the Breakfast box option, and as the hotel didn't offer a hot breakfast option they recommended a local eaterie where we could buy a good quality one quite cheaply.

However much to our annoyance the room itself was disappointing, having stayed in Premier Travel inns for the most part previously, and finding them more than adequate, I was very interested in seeing how Travelodge would compare.

What we found was a room with almost nothing in the way of furniture or storage space in it. A desk, chair and bed was pretty much it, and the 'cupboard' was little more than 6 hangers in a tucked away alcove.
There was also a strange stale almost sweaty odour in the room before we'd even entered it, which didnt seem to dissapate even after the cleaning staff had changed our towels etc the next morning.

Also as the hotel was on a main thoroughfare and the room was below street level there was also a large accumulation of rubbish outside the window, which the staff only cleared after we had complained.

Overall a disappointing stay in a hotel which costed us over £300 for two for the week. I would now consider paying a bit more for any well known independent hotel chain rather than using Travelodge again. Thankfully the trip itself to Edinburgh was extremely enjoyable which helped to offset the disappointment in this case.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.