We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling hot hot hot...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Peterborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feeling hot hot hot...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location for getting in and around Edinburgh.
Room was smelly of stale water and ridiculously hot. No a/c nor portable fans and the restricted opening of the windows does not help. Room is a bit noisey overnight due to central location. We were given keys to a room someone was already staying in...embarrassing to say the least!! They aren't generous with towels either so you will need to ask for more. The wifi is hit and miss depending on where you are in the hotel. Don't go to room 321 if you want a good nights sleep. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
23
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location , close to all amenities. Rooms really nice and clean, and beds really comfy. Great place to stay to get about and see the sights. Shops, restuarants,close by, as is bus and train station. Definately return.

Room Tip: Late check out £10 great idea ,as is early check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled to Edinburgh on a Superbreak deal with first class train travel from doncaster return.

The room was clean and quiet and just did the job we spent most of our time walking round Edinburgh and Leith.

The hotel allows takeaway deliveries to the room if you inform them prior to the takeaway arriving.
Usual Travelodge standards.

5 minutes walk from Waverley Station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth And Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. Two minutes from railway station .Excellent room.Would benefit from A/C.Noise from outside in small hours.Had to have window open due to heat in room.Wouldn't stop us staying there again though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Generally when we arrived the staff were very pleasant and helpful and gave us all the information we needed for our stay. We stayed for a week and they offered us the Breakfast box option, and as the hotel didn't offer a hot breakfast option they recommended a local eaterie where we could buy a good quality one quite cheaply.

However much to our annoyance the room itself was disappointing, having stayed in Premier Travel inns for the most part previously, and finding them more than adequate, I was very interested in seeing how Travelodge would compare.

What we found was a room with almost nothing in the way of furniture or storage space in it. A desk, chair and bed was pretty much it, and the 'cupboard' was little more than 6 hangers in a tucked away alcove.
There was also a strange stale almost sweaty odour in the room before we'd even entered it, which didnt seem to dissapate even after the cleaning staff had changed our towels etc the next morning.

Also as the hotel was on a main thoroughfare and the room was below street level there was also a large accumulation of rubbish outside the window, which the staff only cleared after we had complained.

Overall a disappointing stay in a hotel which costed us over £300 for two for the week. I would now consider paying a bit more for any well known independent hotel chain rather than using Travelodge again. Thankfully the trip itself to Edinburgh was extremely enjoyable which helped to offset the disappointment in this case.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel for a 2 night city break in Edinburgh! The room was really clean and modern with all the things you need (apart from a hairdryer which you could have got at reception). Our room was on the first floor facing the road which meant it was quite noisy with all the buses and emergency services veichles going past however if the windows were closed you couldn't hear them too much, the room itself was quite warm (stayed in June) so we kept the windows open to sleep comfortably. The location of the hotel is great for seeing around the city and is very close to the train station and airport bus drop off. During the stay we saw four members of staff all of whom were very helpful and pleasant. Although the hotel does not have a bar or restaurant there is a bar beside it and an Italian. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Edinburgh for a shopping or sightseeing trip on a budget!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night and was in a quiet but central location.The 3 members of staff we came across were very helpful.Only negative was my partner and I struggled to sleep due to the heat as the window only opens a bit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.