We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wednesday Night Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indaba

Indaba
3 Lochrin Terrace | Tollcross, Edinburgh EH3 9QJ, Scotland (West End)
+44 131 221 1554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,982 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: African, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: An unpretentious Tapas restaurant serving Tapas From Spain and South Africa. Yes, this is casual dining. Regret no under 5's. We're not Child Friendly, We don't serve breakfast or lunch either.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wednesday Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went to Indaba while on a trip to Edinburgh tonight. Looks can be deceiving from the outside. Very understated from the street but very homely and welcoming once inside. Waiters very attentive and knowledgable and friendly. Ordered olives with bread, mushrooms with cheese, potato croquettes with ham, prawns with rice and salad, wilderbeast and monkey gland relish and McSween vegetarian haggis. The haggis was the stand out but all dishes were very good. Finished with a trio of desserts including cheese cake, peppermint tart and a chocolate crying cake. All washed down with Estrella draught beer. Great food, great service and at a great price. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    94
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An absolute hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

At a bit of a loss where to eat on an autumn Saturday, we plumped for Indaba simply on the basis of the TripAdvisor reviews, and certainly weren't disappointed.Slightly off the beaten track on a side street in Tollcross, Indaba offers an intriguing blend of South African and Spanish tapas beautifully prepared by the Spanish wife of the attentive and helpful South African owner.

Two to three tapas each is the advice, so we went for 5 between us - all from the excellent daily specials board. One of the joys of Indaba is that, unlike some tapas restaurants, the food arrives when it's ready, so the 5 dishes came in 3 waves, which is an excellent approach - the food is fresh and dishes don't sit getting cold on the table as you work your way round them.

Medallions of Springbok were excellent - a beautifully rich, lean and dark meat just on the medium side of rare, ham and cheese croquettes hid a light interior in a crisp coating and the large flat mushroom with manchego mixed tastes and textures beautifully. Spiced kebabs of lamb were beautifully aromatic but perhaps a little less intense on the palate than expected, but the standout dish was a baby chorizo beautifully cooked and presented with cheese and peppers.

The food was of absolutely the highest order - fresh, imaginative, perfectly cooked and presented. And above this, accompanied by a lovely bin-end Almarino, the experience came in at just under £50 - sensational.

Frankly, I haven't enjoyed a meal as much in years.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Go Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was amazing! I especially liked the pork ribs and feta, tomato, and aubergine stack. The chocolate cake was delicious! The server was also very nice and gave great recommendations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So. Much. Goodness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I was in a group of 5 visiting Edinburgh this weekend, so I consulted Tripadvisor and booked Indaba as it sounded so great and not too pricey.
Indaba delivered all it promises and more- the staff were helpful and attentive, the food is AMAZING and the ambience had us all very zen. The pork ribs were a revelation and the Peppermint Crisp Tart made me deliriously happy. I wish I could eat it all again right now. Please try this restaurant, you owe it to yourself!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent service, menu and atmosphere. Value for money too and the food was delicious!! I will be back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indaba also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Indaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.