We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Four Sisters Boatel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Four Sisters Boatel to your Saves list
The Four Sisters Boatel
Lochrin Basin | Union Canal, Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9NY, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great base for Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent a week here and it's the perfect base for the Festival. Two adults and two kids slept very comfortably, excellent on board facilities, and plenty of shops cafes and restaurants nearby. Very warm welcome meant we felt at home straight away, and people are fascinated by the fact that you are staying on a boat in Auld Reekie!

Room Tip: Excellent Malaysian restaurant close by.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for a week during the Fringe and it was fantastic - you won't find anywhere else like it. So luxurious - I don't think I've ever seen so many pillows on a bed! The kitchen is very well equiped and the bathroom, although small, has everything you need. The two cabins are compact as you would expect but very comfortable and amazingly well equiped, and the smaller kids (9 & 12) just loved the bunks. The boat is only a 10 -15 min walk from all the shops/theatres etc. in the centre of Edinburgh but there's so much to keep you entertained on-board that you could happily not leave the boat at all (my teenager did his best to get through the DVD library .....but failed). Skipper Cam warned us that the nearby pub had a late license and there might be some noise from it but we weren't bothered by it at all.

We'd rather stay here than anywhere else in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Four Sisters Boatel over two nights. Skipper Cam was very warm and friendly ehen we arrived an hour early and gave us a guided tour of the boat and explained heater for the shower etc.

The boatel is extremely well equipped with flat screen televisions and all mod cons. A very nice touch was the CD and DVD library which caters for all music/film tastes.

The beds are extremely comfortable and it wasn't long before we drifted into a great sleep. Although there is a pub/club nearby we had no issues as the music stopped at midnight.

After we seen the queen (madonna) we returned to our cabins very contented with our stay. We will return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skippercam, Owner at The Four Sisters Boatel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Ahoy boys,
thank you so much for your kind comments and I am so glad you had such a nice time on board The Fur Sisters Boatel. I did hear that the Madona concert was not what was expected and I hope this didn't marr your trip but I suppose as avid fans................ I really appreceate you takeing the time to put a review on line and hope to see you and your friends again in the near future. Thank you for leaving The Four Sisters ship shape :) and we didn't have to ask you to walk the plank:)
Skipper Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. The shower is small and the bedrooms are snug... but that's part of the fun with living on a barge. Staying in this location gave us a great sense of fun, but also we could pop round to the shops, catch a taxi (or 10 - 15 minute walk) to the centre and then come back to it as a base. The kitchen is fully functional, the lounge comfortable and the bedrooms cosy. The whole barge is beautifully kept and it is a fun area. We were woken once at 3am by some people having fun on the edge of the canal, but they were soon gone and then it was quiet again, and the second night was quiet too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skippercam, Owner at The Four Sisters Boatel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Ahoy Sally & Shipmates,
thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about your stay and the photos look fab! I know space is tight in the shower and we do hope to change it to a wet room after the season to make life aboard a little more comfortable. Most of our taller guests use the British Waterways new fabulous big wet rooms ( spotless & warm ) on site and the kids seem to prefer them as they can use their own hair products & not my eco-friendly alternative that must be used on board The Four Sisters.
I look forward to your next visit & thanks for leaving The Four Sisters shipshape:)
Skipper Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

this is possible the worst place in edinburgh to live, i would be better of in a doorwy. the Staff where rude and failled to meet y needs, if anyone is cinsidring living here for a shorth stay i would strongly recommend that you seek refused somewhere else. waste of money and ruined my entire stay.

if your looking for bad service, bad value , lack off sleep and to be sleeping in filth then this is the place for you,

Room Tip: Go Anywhere but here !!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skippercam, Owner at The Four Sisters Boatel, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
What a shame that money turns people like this.
I explained to this person after their first night that I had made a mistake
and had made their reservation for two nights instead of the requested three
nights and apologised profusely. (Fortunately the third night was still free.) I asked them if the still wanted to stay the third night and they did. I offered them a substantial discount on any future stay on board by way of a further apology. When they disembarked they said they had had a fantastic time. This problem has only arisen because I charged them for their third night. I received a horribly abusive telephone call to say that if I didn't refund them the third night
they stayed on board and allow them all to stay for free they would write the most awful review on every site they could find and have their friends do the same. I told them I would not be BLACKMAILED and to do their damndest and obviously they have. I will leave you to make up your own mind about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent 2 nights on this canalboat, which we booked as we wanted something a bit different from your average hotel room - and it was certainly different!

The two double beds in the cabins were very comfortable, and the kitchen was pretty well equipped for such a small space even though we ate out most of the time. I was a bit concerned at the number of ornaments and vases etc. which decorate the boat beautifully. If my children had been a bit smaller I'd have packed them all away safely while we were there as they could very easily get knocked about. And having a very tall husband, he managed to crack his head on the spikey light fittings in the bedroom cabin several times! The Christmas tree and fresh flowers were lovely touches.

The boat was warm enough in December with the radiators on, except at the main entrance to the barge, which was quite draughty (but this was a day after Hurricane Bawbag so it wasn't exactly as still as a millpond). However, this didn't affect the bedroom cabins. We used a couple of cushions to curb the worst of the draughts from the door and it was fine after that.

We did experience some noise from the nightclub but earplugs soon solved that - and I don't think our children noticed much, it was just the adults.

The location is very good indeed - just don't look at Google Maps, as the postcode and address just shows you the side street (pretty scruffy) and not the canal basin (very modern, lots of new buildings and facilities). There's a supermarket 100 metres away from the boat, and it's an easy walk to Princes Street.

The supply of books, DVDs and CDs was a very thoughtful touch and most welcome to keep us entertained after a long day of sightseeing

Rather than have a shower onboard, which though adequate is a bit small for the likes of a 6'5" man, we made use of the British Waterways facilities a bit further down the canal basin, which were spotless, warm and very roomy.

All in all, a great adventure and worth seeking out as something very different for a weekend away or even longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

If your looking for something a little different,then this is definitely for you. The boat is not what you would expect at all. Sumptuous furnishings and very cosy. It's also in an ideal location. We will be back, I'm sure.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Four Sisters Boatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Sisters Boatel

Address: Lochrin Basin | Union Canal, Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9NY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sisters luxury 4 star Boatel has 2 double cabins a set of child sized bunk beds (5'4" x 2'6")and a double sofa bed in the lounge (for larger groups) for your sole use. She is moored in the city centre within walking distance to all major attractions. The tariff quoted is for the entire boatel with use of all on board facilities :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, CityZen and Booking.com so you can book your The Four Sisters Boatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Four Sisters Boatel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Four Sisters Boatel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.