We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great b@b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Culane House Hotel to your Saves list
Culane House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“great b@b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

this is a fab place i come here each time i come up. the staff are so helpful the room is clean and tidy back there again at end of may! we always seem to get the same room which is handy on the ground floor the breakfast is first class

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    68
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
127
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, ready to answer all questions and giving tipps to eat out. Also, we were able to downgrade from a three-bed room to a cheaper twin room on short notice.
Nice, comfortable and clean rooms.
Flexible with breakfast times when you have to leave early in the morning, but looking at the price I would have expected more from the breakfast buffet, than processed cheese slices and pre-packaged pastries. The cooked breakfast was very good though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my little boy. I chose this hotel rather than some of the more central ones on the strength of the positive reviews by families, and wasn't disappointed. The hotel doesn't look much from the outside but our room was lovely, very clean, fabulous big bath and the staff couldn't do enough. Really makes a difference as a single parent with a young child. Buses were frequent and reliable and it was easy to get around once we got the hang of which side of the road to get them from! Would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently. We had a double room on the ground floor which although small, it was clean and had everything we needed. If I had to say anything negative it would be that I was too hot!
The breakfast was buffet for pastries, cheese, meats etc. and a full cooked breakfast was made to order.
We were able to park free on the street right beside the hotel.
There are buses to the town center right outside the door or a short walk to the foot of Leith Walk offers even more.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a very good stay in Edinburgh an in Culane House Hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. On all our questions they helped us out, the rooms were very cleane. The best there is for such a price. When ever we go to Scotland, we leave Holland with pleasure to know there is a comfortable place for us. Adriaan and Marianne Bahnerth

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Got this through Late Rooms, so value enhanced.
An excellent base to explore Leith, overlooking the Links.
I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff.
Breakfast cooked to order. Minor issue; didnt ask how I liked my eggs. Mind you, at buffet you don't hsve choice anyway!
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a very good stay and vegetarian breakfast at the Culane House Hotel, last weekend a good service. Runned by very friendly people. Clean room and a good bed.
They gave us a day trip by coach advised and booked it for us. 12 hours through the snowy Highlands.What a beautiful countryside. We will definitely return here, because of the cold weather this weekend, we have seen just a tiny bit of Edinburgh .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culane House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.