We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Culane House Hotel to your Saves list
Culane House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you would need, the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. the cooked breakfast was great and set you up for the day. Well done to all at the Colane hotel for making our stay a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bottom room number 10, great room no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    68
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
127
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were very pleased with our choice of accommodation, booked through Late Rooms, for several reasons. Our ensuite room was well decorated and comfortable; we enjoyed an excellent full breakfast; street parking was free; and Kenny, the night porter, was very friendly and helpful, and finally it was excellent value. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in November, absolutely perfect hotel just outside the city centre. Bus stops just outside the hotel and takes around 15 minutes to get in to town. Our room was lovely, with a superb bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and could pick what ever we wanted. Five stars from me. :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely little hotel, beautifully decorated and conveniently located to explore Edinburgh. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive - excellent service. A good breakfast with tasty bacon but sausage could be better quality and more than one type of juice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay, the hotel is very easy to find and is excellent location for seeing Edinburgh as you can just jump on a bus for £1.40 leaving the car on the road at no cost. Excellent service and very clean rooms, our room was on the small side however it had everthing we needed.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and will definitely be back. The hotel was well situated for walking or bus into Leith or Edinburgh. Free on street parking was always available. Our room had a lovely view of the park at the front of the hotel.
The room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with a choice of continental or cooked at no extra cost. Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a 5 night holiday in Edinburgh.

We had a lovely room, so clean @ quiet. Breakfasts were well presented & served to us by the multi talented Kenny (when does he sleep?). Kenny was on duty everyone of our 5 nights & nothing was too much trouble, he & the hotel were a real delight....We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culane House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.