We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous day tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Routes - Day Tours

Scottish Routes - Day Tours
Conference House, 152 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8EB, Scotland
+44 131 347 8886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 270 Activities in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialising in tailor-made and scheduled tours all over Scotland. Regular departures from Edinburgh. Tours include all the best parts of Scotland. Tours run all year round, and depart from the Royal Mile. Whisky Tours are a particular speciality. Explore Scotland Your Way.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A few weeks ago my husband and I decided on a last minute trip to Edinburgh from NYC. My husband is a big whisky fan and I wanted to surprise him with a visit to some distilleries, as well as a little exploration of Scotland. I reached out to Scottish Routes and luckily they were able to accommodate us with a private day tour on just a few days notice. It was very lucky for us. We had an amazing day!!

With a few short email exchanges, Will put together the perfect day for us. It was a great combo of culture, history and whisky. Will was with us for the day. He arrived early and was bright and cheerful from the start. Will was a fountain of information during the day stopping at various points along the drive for photo ops and historical/cultural info. He also knew a ton about whisky :) It was a great balance and he was really easy to talk with and seemed genuinely passionate about his country, it's history and it's culture and whisky.

We fell in love with Scotland that weekend, thanks in part to our experience with Will, and left already trying to plan a return, longer visit. We will definitely contact Will once we get our plan together. I highly recommend Scottish Routes for a great touring experience.

oh, and if you do tour with SR, ask them to take you to Doune Castle. Will took us there and we loved it. We returned to Edinburgh and, after visiting Edinburgh Castle, decided we preferred Doune.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottishRoutes, Manager at Scottish Routes - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi nycadventurer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent tour with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time in Scotland so much and that we were able to share our passion for all things Scottish (especially the whisky).

Doune Castle is one of our favourites too. It is going to be a popular destination this year as some of the filming for the new Outlander series is taking place there.

I hope we can be of service to you again in the future and wish you all the best from sunny Scotland.

Thank you again for choosing Scottish Routes.

WS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Magical Islay Day Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I'll start with the background, not to highlight any negatives, but to emphasize how above and beyond the customer service with Will and his team at @ScottishRoutes truly is.

I booked a short-notice private whisky tasting tour with Scottish Routes and paid in full up front (payment accepted). I was immediately contacted by Will, the managing director, apologizing that he had accidentally double-booked us (and couldn't find any replacement drivers, including himself) and offering a full refund. He felt so bad that he ALSO offered my colleague and I a free tour anywhere in Scotland later on our trip.

We were flabbergasted with this generosity (truly rare in this day and age) and accepted his offer

What came after was a tremendous experience with Will, where he imparted his knowledge of culture, history and whisky (lots of whisky talk). He covered all transportation costs (car,ferry) and most of all, his time.

Islay was amazing (and we were able to visit all 8 distilleries on the Island, with a dram at all but one - - make sure you don't miss the Lagavulin warehouse tasting, it is pretty special), but it all comes back to Will's sacrifice of his time for a customer service experience that I'm not sure I've ever had before in the world of international touring.

I want to personally thank you again Will, and I promise our word of mouth from this trip will be nothing but glowing, about both you and your company.

Sorry it took me so long to get this review up.
Until next time (maybe Skye and Tallisker?)

Slainte,
Roman

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottishRoutes, Manager at Scottish Routes - Day Tours, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Roman T,

Thank you so much for the amazing in-depth review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I am so happy that we were able to show you around the wonderful Isle of Islay in such a short time.

We pride ourselves on our customer service skills so it is fantastic to hear that we surpassed your expectations, despite the far-from-ideal circumstances initially.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Scotland again any time and show you around some of the other highlights.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.

Slainte Mhath,

Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Day trip to Highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Will of Scottish Routes was very accommodating to our request for a very long, one day trip to the Highlands. Marti, our guide was knowledgeable, service-oriented and fun. A great outing for our family of 5. Would recommend their services.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottishRoutes, Manager at Scottish Routes - Day Tours, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi martinxxxx2013,

Thank you so much for leaving a review of your day tour with us.

I am really glad to hear that you and the family enjoyed your time exploring Scotland with us and I will pass on your feedback to Marti as well. We are very lucky to have such a great guide working with us.

I wish you all the best for 2014 and hope to welcome you back to Scotland again in the future.

Thanks again,

WS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved our time with Scottish Routes...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked Scottish Routes for two full day tours while we were in Edinburgh recently. We had a great guide!! He was cheerful and enthusiastic. He also pointed out great 'out of the way' things that I would never have known about. Things like Rowling's inspiration for Hogwart's in her series and the amazing train bridge over the Forth River. We were able to have his undivided attention for the entire two days and it made such a huge difference in my understanding of Scottish history, life and culture. He was also quite patient with my mother. He ended up escorting her all over the Royal Yacht, Britannia, after I got separated from them. The best part was being able to tour at our own pace. We also got to tour Rosslyn Chapel. Having an experienced guide was great as he was able to show us some of the highlights of the amazing masonry. Thanks Scottish Routes!
I can heartily recommend this company. The service is impeccable. For me, it strengthened my passion for all things Scottish. Thank you, Scottish Routes!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottishRoutes, Manager at Scottish Routes - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi BTDT115,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your two individual day tours. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their time in Scotland with us. Our guides (Simon in this case) always do their very best to ensure our guests have the best possible experience and I am really glad that we succeeded on this occasion.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Scotland again in the not too distant future.

Many thanks,

WS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scotland as it should be, relaxed and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you want a flexible, fun, spontaneous tour of Scotland with a knowledgable historian who knows where to stop for historical sites and gardens, pubs, distilleries, food and lodging...providing Scotish humor the whole way....this is your tour. However, avoid the haggis!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottishRoutes, Manager at Scottish Routes - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Jclark360,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is always amazing to hear our guests recommend our tours to other people.

We aim to ensure that our guests get a sense of the real Scotland, from a local's perspective, and come away from Scotland with a good insight into what it is like to be Scottish.

Sorry you didn't like the haggis. Maybe we can convince you about the black pudding on the next trip.

Thank you again for choosing Scottish Routes.

WS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish Routes - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Scottish Routes - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Routes - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.