We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Roch Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Art Roch Hostel to your Saves list
Art Roch Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2 West Port | Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JA, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Coimbatore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“In the heart of the town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located within a stone throw distance from the Edinburgh Castle, this hostel is housed in a vintage era stone building. Go inside the alleys and its a maze till you find your rooms. Good place to stay if you're travelling in groups. Parking is on the street outside and it has to be renewed every one hours after 8 a.m. Not a good idea if you go partying the previous night and you find a parking ticket when you wake up. Suggest you find the nearest NCP. Linens are neat and fresh. Washrooms are clean for a busy hostel. Free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    11
    5
    21
See reviews for
3
10
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Art Roch Hostel is a nice and cheap accomodation if you're visiting Edinburgh. I've been there with my friend and we found it very easily by walking: the location is perfect, right in the centre, facing the Caste and near pubs and nice restaurants.
The staff is nice and young and the athmosphere is easy, relaxed and full of energy at the same time! Nice decorations on the walls, nice rooms, clean and tidy, generous breakfast.
I found it very comfortable and I would definetely come back if I'll visit Edinburgh again.
I reccomend this Hostel to young people down to earth and willing to live the Scottish spirit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Title says it all - it is REALLY dirty and really old! We stayed there because it was close to the center and it was cheaper than other places but I would not do that again or recommend this place... And it is VERY noisy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I ve been there in the 2011 summer, the hostel is very relaxed and the people who works there are nice.
I think the prices are good, but you must pay for breakfast. But near you have a supermaket.
The ubication is excellent, is just in front fo the castle, but the train station is half away.
In the upper floor, you have a playroom and the kitchen, is a very funny place for make new friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed there only a night, but it was a terrible experience: first of all, we booked beds in a female dorm while they put us in a mixed dorm because the hostel was full that night (who cares, since I paid for what I booked?); the most annoying thing was that the room was too dirty: bed linens were so dirty that I was worried about sleeping on them! In the room, there were clothes and personal belongings on the floor, beer cans, and the smell of beer was very strong. The only good thing was the location, since it was in the city centre. I don't want to say that this always happens , maybe I only was unlucky, but my experience was horrible and honestly I wouldn't suggest this hostel to someone else, also considered that it's not very cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location of this hostel was great with only a 10 minute walk to the Old Town of Edinburgh and a magnificent view of Edinburgh Castle the moment you walk out the front door. The hostel was relatively cheap as well, but you get what you pay for.

The rooms were fairly average and small. The hostel layout was poor, as there were too many areas for people to hang out (a kitchen up the top level, and a chill out area down the bottom) so it was a difficult environment to meet and chat to other travelers. There were no activities arranged by the hostel other than a pub crawl which was not running, but information was provided by tours that were run by 3rd party organisations. Staff were helpful when I wanted to book a tour with an external company.

Whilst the location was great I would've rather stayed in a more modern hostel with less rooms and a more social environment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed in hostels/backpackers all over the world and I had never been bitten by bed bugs before!! I stayed in the double room no- 301.
When I booked over the phone I asked for email confirmation of my booking and it was never sent even tho I phoned 3 more times asking for it,when I arrived at the hostel I was overcharged!! The red head girl behind reception very unhelpful,un interested and rude.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Roch Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Roch Hostel

Address: 2 West Port | Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Roch Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Roch Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Roch Hotel Edinburgh
Art Roch Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Roch Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.