We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stop over.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Craigmillar Park | Cameron Toll, Edinburgh EH16 5PD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stop over.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from staying here for one night, we were very pleased with the hotel.The room is standard what you normally get with Travel Lodge basic but clean and tidy.The location was ideal as a bus stop right outside the hotel into the city centre or a 1.9 mile walk we took a slow walk and it took us about half an hour to get to the city.There is a car park on site which is free but this gets busy, however there is a Sainsbury's across the road which is ideal and you are ok to park on there.On our walk into the city we noticed lots of places to eat, or there is a cafe and bar in the hotel which is handy and not bad on price.The staff were all very helpful and friendly will be stopping here again fantastic city location and a decent price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    96
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
86
119
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Before coming to this hotel I stayed in a "not great" Travelodge in Glasgow, I don't know if this has poisoned my point of view or not, but this hotel was really good!
When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly professional guy who checked us in and gave us our room key. My friend and I booked a twin room, we were given one pretty much right by the front door. I thought the noise from outside in either the corridor of the front of the hotel will be a bother, but it was honestly really quiet.
The room was clean and smart. The breakfast (which I absolutely recommend) was a collection of hot and cold food which will give you a great kick start to the day.
There is good car parking at this hotel. When we arrived we pulled straight into a space and had no problems. I felt that my car was safe and secure.
Hidden across the road from this hotel is a HUGE Sainsbury's and a couple of restaurants, so you always have a fall back plan if you happen to be craving those Haribos on a Friday afternoon.
In relation to the city centre, this hotel is on a road that leads straight to the beating heart of Edinburgh - The Royal Mile. I found that this was a 40-45 minute walk, which for my friend and I was fine, but there is always the option of getting the bus. There are a couple of buses that are scheduled every 15 minutes towards the city centre.
Overall, a brilliant hotel which added to the experience of a beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

There is only one negative thing about this review... it is so positive I might have a problem booking it in future!

I have often struggled with the "Edinburgh problem". Shows would be better with a stop over but hotels are extortionate and generally have no or very expensive parking.

Easy to find, well located just across from Cameron Toll shopping centre, and with free parking, this was a serendipdous discovery indeed! On the main bus route too... gives options.

Staff exceptionally professional and friendly.

Room well furnished and clean.

No noise at night... and that bed was just amazing! Didn't groan under my bulk, but cuddled me to sleep like a summer cloud on a dreamy lazy day. Best sleep I've had in a hotel bed in ages!

Breakfast was great... checkout time sensible and extendable... quite simply, what's not to love?

I have found a new base for my Capital adventures... now keep it to yourself please!

Room Tip: We were in room 11... ground floor and facing the car park... perfectly quiet all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

New, quiet, clean Travelodge,with free parking. Situated on a road with plenty of buses into town (only a 5-10 min bus journey to the centre of Edinburgh). Have stayed a few times, always a good experience, no problems, and very QUIET!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Everything as you'd expect, but charged £10 for an "early check-in" at 1 pm! Not exactly welcoming, and it's not as if I arrived at 10 a.m or during breakfast. I've used the hotel twice in the last year and at least 6 times in the last two years, this is the first negative experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This Travelodge has the new comfortable beds - at least my room did - room 202. I usually stay in a premier inn in Edinburgh and I can honestly say the bed was just as comfortable.

They also do food in the hotel but it's probably better to jump in the car and find somewhere nearer town because there is not much in the Cameron Toll area although there is a large shopping centre just around the corner with cheap fuel !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for three nights for my sister's wedding. Having never been to Edinburgh before I wasn't really sure what to expect from this Travelodge but she had recommended it to me. She wasn't wrong!
I've stayed in many Travelodge Inns throughout the UK and I can say that this one is by far the best one I've ever been to.
Large refurbished rooms, spotlessly clean.
A nice on-site bar (bar snacks available but very poor - however you can get one of the many takeaways to deliver directly to the door. The staff will recommend where to order from).
There's a hot cooked buffet breakfast available, all the usual juices, cereals, croissants, muffins, yogurts, bacon, eggs, sausage, beans, toast etc and hot drinks for around £7 and it was exceptional quality too.
The staff need to be commended for their professionalism whilst also being friendly and helpful with any type of query.
And a big big plus for Edinburgh - plenty of free car parking here!
"Good on all of you" at Cameron Toll and thank you for a wonderful stay.
Can't wait to return very soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are perfectly situated for the reception, bar and lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll

Address: 43 Craigmillar Park | Cameron Toll, Edinburgh EH16 5PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#62 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Cameron Toll is a 115 bedroom hotel, rooms types include: - Double and twin rooms with en-suite shower facilities. - Family rooms with en-suite bath / shower facilities - Accessible rooms with wet rooms en-suite and emergency call points. Reception is manned 24 hours a day. Bar cafe service includes breakfast, evening meals and a licenced bar. Car parking is on a first come first serve basis. 5 Accessible parking spaces can be found to the front of the building. Local Facilities: Cameron Toll shopping centre is a short distance away and has petrol filling station on site. Kings Buildings University Buildings. Commonwealth Swimming Pool. Royal Infirmary Hospital - Lothian bus numbers to the hospital include 7, 8 and 49. Buses in to the city centre are regular. Please ask at reception for any additional information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.