We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Celiac friendly Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh Larder Cafe

Edinburgh Larder Cafe
15 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NB, Scotland (Formerly Edinburgh Larder)
01315566922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,825 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Vegan, Scottish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Breakfast: start your day with our excellent range of healthy options such as our own homemade granola (both gluten and dairy free), porridge cooked to order (also be made gluten and dairy free) with a selection of toppings, croissants with delicious fillings. Or set yourself up with something more hearty including our own homemade beans on toast, hot rolls, scrambled eggs with salmon, bacon or sausage and lots of other tasty treats. Accompany the excellent eating with coffee roasted in Edinburgh by Artisan Roast, or teas blended here in Scotland by Edinburgh based Eteaket.Throughout the day: if you're after something sweet, our delicious cakes are made on site by our staff who all love to bake. Our dark chocolate and nut brownies are regularly hailed as the best in town – as are our delicious light scones served with clotted cream and homemade jam. Lunch: eat in or take away daily specials such as homemade soups, frittatas, quiches and pies together with our menu of simple and authentic fresh deli plates, salads, sandwiches made with artisan Scottish cheeses, Highland salamis, Arran smoked fish, and Lanarkshire cooked meats. As we're licensed, try our Scottish beers or our excellent house wine. We have an all day brunch menu (or until we run out!) available every Sunday, including meat and vegetarian full Scottish breakfasts and French toast with a seasonal compote.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Celiac friendly Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This cafe is brilliant for breakfast. I had gluten free bread with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and my husband had smoked salmon and cream cheese croissant. Yummy, high quality, local sourced ingredients at affordable prices! They were playing Flaming Lips as well which meant i had to score 5! Highly recommended, especially for those who have to eat gluten free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
edinburghlarder, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation! We're delighted that you have enjoyed your time at the Edinburgh Larder and liked our Gluten free options! I do hope you come by again soon. Have a fantastic weekend.

All the best,

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    247
    82
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Healthy and tasty food in a relaxed cafe environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

If you've got a spare hour for a sandwich, salad, soup or one of their daily specials, then it's well worth spending that time and money at Edinburgh's Larder Cafe just off the royal mile. It's really tasty and offers great value for money. Kevin the antipodean waiter is a hoot as is his sidekick Stacey!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Scarlett,

Thank you for your kind review. I will make sure to let Kevin and Stacey know about your review! I'm sure they would be delighted to hear about it. I hope you come back soon. Have a fantastic weekend.

All the best,

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant, fresh, top quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited quite by chance one Wednesday lunchtime. Great, small place, with a light and youthful atmosphere. Has a lovely healthy feel. Staff really friendly and helpful. Food was exceptionally good. We all had soup with half sandwiches. Daughter said her sandwich (ham and cheese) was the best she'd ever had! Fresh was the word I would use more than anything to describe the food. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for such a kind review! I'm delighted to hear that your daughter enjoyed our Ham, Cheddar, and 'my dad's chutney' sandwich. We're proud to be serving fresh and Scottish food. It's great to hear that you found our food to be described as just that.

Thanks again for you're review and come back soon. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

All the best,

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Sunday breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very good, tasty Sunday breakfast - we arrived at 9, and the place was empty - porridge was excellent, and the porridge and toast sets you up for a good long day. Two of our threesome were coeliac - not GF bread in stock but we had some with us and the menu was adapted quickly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry to hear that we didn't have any gluten free bread in stock. I have already talked with the team in the cafe to ensure that we keep a regular supply. Sorry for the inconvenience. I do hope you return soon!

Have a lovely weekend and all the best,

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“High Quality Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A very popular place, and small, so we felt lucky to get a table. It's basically a cafe and the atmosphere is casual and young. There was quite limited choice because we came rather late, but everything was delicious. And it's a great place to buy jams and other Scottish-produced foodstuffs to take home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Larder Cafe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh Larder Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh Larder Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.