We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheep Heid Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sheep Heid Inn
Save
You added The Sheep Heid Inn to your Saves list
43-45 The Causeway, Edinburgh EH15 3QA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We're recommended to try after a family member had been. Nice greeting from the staff and shown to the enclosed courtyard. Lovely setting and staff were prompt with the drinks order. Food was very good we had the mixed fish starter with king prawn and calamari followed by the fish and chips and the spicy sticky chicken. Good portions and well presented. Noticed the staff including the management paying special attention to the many foreign tourists who were eating also. The interior looks very inviting especially on a winters day with the fires. Looked upstairs and saw a well presented formal dining area laid out. Will be back again next time I'm in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
14
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a lovely meal but glad I did not read the reviews before we went!
Perhaps I would not have gone as they are a bit slating!
My only criticism is we had to wait a long time between starter and main course especially as it got a lot quieter. But the food was good if not spectacular, but pleasant enough

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I popped in the Sheep Heid yesterday evening following a recommendation from a workmate, and was underwhelmed by the place, or more accurately the staff. Whilst it's a nice interior and has very comfy chairs, the 3 young barstaff milled around like extras from a George A Romero film, all vacant expressions and farts in a trance. Even though it wasn't busy it took ten minutes to get a pint, which was decent enough when it arrive. I was after food, but the menu, for which I had to hassle to get a copy, is stupidly pricey, even for Edinburgh. A tenner for haggis, neeps and tatties is just plain silly, and is plainly aimed at tourists who'll not know better. I disappeared after the pint to walk back to town.

Interestingly, the cask ales are served by electric pump rather than hand pull, but when I remarked on this to the spotty barboy (a bit like the adolescent in The Simpsons) he just grunted and started muttering "brains, brains". (Ok, I made the brains bit up, but he did do a good zombie impression.)

This is likely a grand pub for a quiet beer or three, particularly after a stiff climb up Arthurs Seat, and the Harviestoun I had was in very good condition indeed, if a tad pricey at £3.54. Only those with deep pockets will eat there, though, and you could die of thirst waiting to get served.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

While the food was good, we waited 90 minutes for our first course to arrive. The bar staff was friendly and most helpful, while the food staff seemed overwhelmed. If you have time to wait, it's a good option for dinner. (I canceled my main course because by the time our food got there, I was falling asleep at the table).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love the sheep's heid. The setting is just beautiful and really does feel like you have left the city. The staff are always welcoming and friendly. The wine list is fantastic and the food yummy. I love to drop in here for a glass of red wine after a walk up Arthur's seat on a chilly day. Both the wine and the atmosphere are very warming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked for Sunday lunch for four on the way to the airport. Great pub, with bags of atmosphere, though downstairs is way better than upstairs.

Nice place to walk to as well, given its location.

We ordered starters from the main menu - slow arriving, but rather good all the same.

This was followed by roast beef and trimmings for all of us - a Sunday special. This was let down by the quality of the meat, but otherwise pretty good. I don't think you can cut corners on the quality of the ingredients - it simply isn't worth it.

Overall, the Sheep Heid grasped defeat from the jaws of victory - slow service, successful starter but second rate main.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Waited ages for drinks and food to be served. Couldn't cope with dietary requests, egg free - had mayo on burger, dairy free - had butter on potatoes. Chicken was nice but served with only potatoes and bit of lettuce - no veggies in sight?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sheep Heid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheep Heid Inn

Address: 43-45 The Causeway, Edinburgh EH15 3QA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Sheep Heid Inn Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheep Heid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.