We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springfield Apartments
Save
You added Springfield Apartments to your Saves list
Springfield Street, Edinburgh EH6 5DU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had to leave the apartments as they were in such a bad state. wet towels had been left on the bed so all the bedrooms were smelly. the pillow had blood on it and the bed sheets were stained. Overall the whole place was dirty and it looked like someone house not a holiday apartment. couldn't even sit on the sofas as they were soooo dirty. George agreed that this wasn't to his usual standards and he would find us somewhere else to stay. 4 hours later he still hadn't got back to us so we found our own place. Lochend apartments are much nicer! after several weeks of waiting and chasing phone calls we finally got our money refunded.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We have stayed here twice now and the first time was excellent. This trip we had a few problems and they were not sorted during our 4 day stay. We , asthe family in October, had no internet nor cable TV.Despite calling George immediately ,nothing happened and as we had family skype calls orgainsed over the Christmas period this was disappointing. The flat is lovely but does need a bit of maintenance as lacking cutlery for a full tenancy and ensuite toilet door is broken, no facilities for full bins and could do with a manual re all the equipment.We still didnt manage to work out the DVD!Dont let this put you off booking as good flat in good location but make sure the internet etc is all working before you arrive!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Dad, Mum, 3 girls aged 10,8,6 and 1 boy aged 1 stayed Saturday to Friday October 2010. Flat is middle level of 3 block and has shared driveway with the other 2 flats - when we stayed there were two other cars in the driveway but they didn't seem to move all week so there was never a problem getting parked. It might have been possible to squeeze one more car in. If the driveway had been full there is lots of parking spaces adjacent to the flat but I don't know if these spaces were only for residents of the nearby flats or not.
The flat is accessed by outside steps and the key was kept in a keysafe outside the door which you need to get the combination for. This was handy as it meant we didn't need to wait for anyone to turn up to let us in. However, I feel it is nice to be met by the owner or someone to give you a quick guide to the property eg heating etc. In our case this might have avoided the problems we came across. Inside the flat there was a hallway which our toddler enjoyed toddling along. The bedrooms, bathroom and living room all came oft the hallway.
The flat has three good sized bedrooms all with double beds and one is en-suite. The bed in the master bedroom could have been slightly bigger but the other bedrooms were fine and we had two girls sharing one of the rooms and one girl and a travel cot (provided by owner) in the other. Overall there was plenty of room in each of the bedrooms and each had built in wardrobes.
The en-suite bathroom was fine although the shower didn't drain very quickly so you ended up with a foot spa if you wanted a long shower. The main bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which our youngest daughter loved.
The living room was also a good size with a large coffee table and massive tv. The chairs and sofas were really comfy and were great to sink into after walking round Edinburgh.
The kitchen was just off the living room. It was ok but the dining table only had four seats and was slightly squeezed in so the kids got a rare "treat" of tv dinners round the coffee table. There was also a workstation in the corner of the living room which was good for using laptop and for the kids to play offices.
So what were the problems? Well the three top reasons for booking were the free parking, the washing machine (essential for family of 6!) and the wireless internet so that I could work remotely. Well I think we were just unlucky as the washing machine was full of water and clearly hadn't been checked after the last guests had left. The virign internet connection also wasn't working and the satelite tv only had basic bbc and itv channels and put a warning on the screen anytime you changed between these channels. Again these issues might have been spotted had the owner checked over the flat themselves or arranged for this to be done when we arrived. The final problem was the hot water supply which might not have been noticed even had the property been checked. Having advised George (the owner) about these problems he did try to get them resloved and might have been let down by virgin as they advised him the problem had been sorted on Sunday but we had to chase it up again and only got it sorted late Wednesday afternoon when we waited in for an engineer to arrive. What made this slightly more frustrating was that the tv package seemed to be the full works with sports, movies and disney channels included.
Using the immersion heater solved the hot water issues. Sadly the wachine machine wasn't fixed until around 6pm on Wednesday evening by which time a pile of clothes was starting to resemble Arthur's Seat! I feel that George did try to do his best but was let down by other suppliers, however this was still a frustration that spoiled our enjoyment of the week. I'm still waiting for a response to a suggestion I made to him.
Overall I'd certainly recommend the flat as the problems we encountered shouldn't happen again. The location near the foot of Leith Walk is still within walking distance of Princes Street even with 4 kids and also has lots of take aways nearby (dominos, kfc, subway, greggs and worth going to Los Cardos) as well as a Tesco nearby. Waterworld swimming pool next to Tesco is worth a visit with the kids but check opening times before you go.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We were travelling from different parts of the country to a family wedding in Edinburgh. The apartment gave us the flexibility we needed and fitted our plans perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble and, although we never actually met George face-to-face, he couldn't have been more helpful, and the service we received was top notch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springfield Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Apartments

Address: Springfield Street, Edinburgh EH6 5DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Springfield Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.