We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and tasty cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Lucano

Caffe Lucano
37-39 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1EL, Scotland (Cowgate)
+44 131 225 6690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #474 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $16 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cowgate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and tasty cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We're regulars here and the coffee and breakfasts are delicious and staff never fail to make us feel welcome. Don't know about the regular restaurant food, but this is a great morning stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    55
    12
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great place to stop for lunch. Always busy so make a reservation if possible. I had a soup and a toastie and it was delicious! It is very laid back. My friends loved their pasta dishes and the coffee is superb! Will definitely go back there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant cooking, friendly and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Despite living in Edinburgh for years I'd never been to this place but was taken here recently and have been twice since, it's now a regular spot for me. Family owned and run, friendly, great value for money and some of the best (and most interesting) pasta dishes I've ever had, anywhere including Italy! Give the chain places a miss and go here, you won't regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've Been a regular customer for some time but I've been away from Edinburgh for a while. I stopped in for lunch and thought the new decor was just beautiful. I didn't think it was possible but the food is even better than I remembered also. Another thing to note is the cakes! I helped myself to a chocolate pear tart for pudding and it didn't disappoint. Caffe Lucano's is the sort of place that's great for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just cake and coffee. It remains my fave place to eat when in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disappointing service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have been a regular customer of Lucano's for years, but went there yesterday for the first time since they introduced new decor ANC menu. In the past, customer service might have been somewhat rushed, but always ok. Yesterday I sat next to the door, which then was propped open despite it being a cold, wet day. I asked whether I could close it, but instead my friend and I were asked to move to another table. Understandable, perhaps. We then had our coffees and ordered lunch. After 50 mins, we still hadn't received any food, despite other guests who'd arrived much later than us being served. Only after enquiring were we then served food another 15 mins later. The food was lovely, even though this made for a late lunch. Eventually we got the bill, only to find that one of our meals had been charged for twice. We hadn't been offered a discount despite our order being forgotten, nor anything beyond 'Oh, I'm sorry' from the waiter. Really disappointing. In future I'll look for a different place with better customer service - after all, there are plenty of great cafés close by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Lucano also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Caffe Lucano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Lucano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.