We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunedin Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunedin Guest House
Save
You added Dunedin Guest House to your Saves list
8 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH165HH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in the Dunedin Guest House for two nights. It is a nice residential section of town. Rooms were very comfortable and had very nice small unexpected touches. We stayed on the third floor and room had a very nice view. The hosts were very helpful regarding local dining spots. We very much enjoyed one a few short blocks away and one in town. Buses to the Royal Mile were frequent and bus stop was half a block from the B&B. We walked from the B&B to the Royal Mile on day 2 and that was a reasonable 25 minute, flat walk. Breakfasts were typical Scotland fare and choice might be considered ordinary for most American travelers. Food was well prepared.

Room Tip: Higher floors had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hutschenhausen, DE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband & I and our 2 adult daughters had the pleasure of staying with the Wright family in Dunedin Guest House. We truly enjoyed our stay and our hosts were most accommodating when our trip was delayed by a day and we were then further delayed beyond our arrival time due to extraordinary traffic. We had two beautifully decorated rooms with all the amenities. The Wrights were most helpful with restaurant information and public transportation options - even called a taxi for us when we headed to the castle. Convenient location, delightful rooms, extraordinary hosts. Loved our stay at Dunedin!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

...but was not particularly special. Our room was comfortable although the shower seemed on the very small side. Breakfasts were quite ordinary. Our host did providecexcellent dining recommendations, and was helpful in directing us to Rosslyn chapel and on to St. Andrews. Review may be colored by the fact that I did not particularly like Edinburgh!

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Dunedin B&B is conveniently located in a quiet side street, 2 minutes from bus stop for a quick ride or walk (1.5 miles) into Edinburgh. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast delicious, and the hosts welcoming an helpful. Also walking distance to Holyrood park and pubs/restaurants. A great base for exploring Edinburgh.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Once agin I returned to the Dunedin Guest House but this time to celebrate my friends birthday and there were 14 of us so we took over the guest house apart for 1 room. David coped very well when we all turned up to book in letting us choose our own room & making sure we all had the right keys, even giving us 2 sets per room. We all had a good look around each others rooms & I loved how they were all individually decorated & once again spotless (this also gave some of the others a chance to know which specific room to ask for on their return!). David & Elaine were excellent when we all arrived for breakfast together & we didn't have to wait any longer than expected for our cooked food. Once again the selection of fruit, juices, hot drinks, cereals, yogurts, spreads, cheese & oatcakes were fab. As the Edinburgh Marathon was on David was very good at explaining what roads were going to be closed & at what times, then he even printed off the route for us to keep. Again he gave loads of good advice on the local restaurants & what sights to see giving us discount tickets to use. He was also very good (well should say patient!) working out the room payments when some of us were paying cash & some by card, he wasn't fazed a bit by our fumbling!! Another very enjoyable stay here & some of us are already planning the return visit!! Thanks very much David, Elaine & other staff behind the scenes x

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was my second visit to the Dunedin Guest House having stayed here 2 years ago with 3 girl friends. We were so impressed we decided to come back this year only this time we brought another 9 friends taking over all but the one remaining single bed room!
This gave me the opportunity to view all of the rooms. I found them all to be tastefully decorated & spotlessly clean & I would have been happy to stay in any of them. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cereals, yogurts, fruit, oatcakes, jams, fruit juice, etc & a choice from the home cooked breakfast menu- more than enough to set you up for the day ahead. David & Elaine coped remarkably well even when we turned up en-mass for breakfast!
David was very helpful providing discount tickets & advice for local tourist attractions.
The only downsid is the distance from the city centre. Although only a 20 minute walk, if you have been walking all day & want to return to the city centre for the evening as we did, it can cost between £8 & £10 in taxi fare depending on where you are going so this is something you may wish to take into consideration.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corryton, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My sister and I have been lucky enough to get to stay with David and his wife 3 separate times. This is by far our FAVORITE B&B in the UK. We are so fortunate that we get to go for a forth time this July. Rooms are a good size and every thing is super clean. They make you feel welcome. They give good advise on sight seeing and local Pubs. They are very close to the bus stop.Just a few yards from their door.Thanks David

Room Tip: Room #2 is the larger of the twin rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunedin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Guest House

Address: 8 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH165HH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunedin Guest House is a semi-detached Victorian Villa located on a large sunny corner with gardens and a lovely view of Arthur's Seat and Salisbury Crags. Built as a family home in 1882, the three-story house was divided into two homes in the 1950s and returned to a single dwelling around late 1980s. Sympathetically converted into the present accommodations, the house is a listed building and therefore retains such original features as a magnificently lit cupola that dominates the central staircase and gives the house an airy spaciousness. Other original features are the mosaic-tiled entrance and vestibule, ornate cornices and a spectacular plasterwork thistle ceiling in the breakfast room. Original woodwork prevails throughout the guestrooms, as well, with massive Canadian pine doors, paneling and dados. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunedin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunedin Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.