We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian food at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cucina

Cucina
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh | 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Cowgate)
+44 (0)131 220 6666
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #327 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $42 - $179
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cowgate
Description: Housed in the exuberant Hotel Missoni in the heart of Edinburgh, Cucina presents exquisitely authentic cooking that has been inspired by classic Italian cuisine. Alive with brilliant colour, Cucina at Hotel Missoni is relaxed by day and comes alive with a vibrant ambience in the evening. The bar serves the signature Cucina afternoon tea with traditional homemade scones, Italian deluxe finger sandwiches and Italian delicacies. Please note, from 2nd to 24th August 2013, the restaurant will be open from 12:30 - 15:30 for lunch, and 17:30 - 23.00 for dinner. For the month of August, no pre-theatre menu will be served, however the full a la carte menu will be available.
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Italian food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the second visit to Cucina for dinner and the service is exceptional. All the staff from reservations to waiting staff are so friendly and professional and they are extremely knowledgeable about the food and wine. Simply the best Italian restaurant in Edinburgh and we will most certainly return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    77
    29
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We needed somewhere to go for a quick lunch before a wedding, and Cucina didn't disappoint. An impossible menu to choose from, so many yummy things. The food was served quickly and was delicious. A good choice!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real Gem in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We regularly have lunch at Cucina when in Edinburgh and have been doing so since it first opened. The food is simple, innovative and Italian. A recent lunch of the freshest mussels in a rich tomato broth, a tranch of Hake served on Puy lentils with parsley, and a poached pear served on an intense jelly base with honeycomb ice cream was outstanding. A very interesting and comprehensive, mainly Italian, wine list. Prosecco is available on draught!
The quality of the food and wine are complemented by exemplary service which, while remaining totally professional, is friendly, welcoming and helpful. Consistency is something a lot of restaurants fail to deliver. Cucina has never disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simple food cooked, presented and served to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently ate at Cucina on a cold Monday night in January. The restaurant was not busy but this did not affect the service we received at all.
We started with cocktails from their list. Both were a great taster of things to come.
The starters of cured meats for me and green bean salad for my partner were simply described in the menu but the quality of both were excellent. The main course of mouth watering calves liver ( Venetian style) and my partners risotto with duck ragu and sage continued the theme of well balanced flavours cooked to perfection.
The desserts of lemon sorbet and Tiramisu with a recommended dessert wine were wonderful. I can assure you that you will not have tasted a Tiramisu like this any where else .

The wine menu did not give much of a description but was set out according to different regions of Italy. We decided to go for a Sicilian wine which we did not know. It proved a very good accompaniment to the dinner.

We were able to chat to the staff who were not only knowledgeable about the food but about the company in which they clearly had justified pride - which is very refreshing and gave us the feeling that we were indeed eating somewhere special and somewhere to which we will doubtless return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A favourite restaurant which I've dined at many times and have never written a review so I'm rectifying this. Cucina is contemporary Italian restaurant with an equally high quality delivery of both food and service. The food is classic Italian cuisine, strong on flavour and freshness and without too much over-complication and the service is very attentive, professional and friendly. The wine list is vast but surprise yourself by asking for a wine to be chosen for you at a budget and of a given style and I promise you'll have a great wine selected for you. Suitable for all occassions from family meals out, to celebrating to business entertaining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.