We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast for all day long” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broughton Delicatessen and Cafe

Broughton Delicatessen and Cafe
7 Barony Street, Edinburgh eh36pd, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)
01315587111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #410 of 1,789 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Broughton Delicatessen has been feeding lunch to the food lovers of the New Town and Broughton area for four years and has now stretched its opening hours until 9pm Mon – Sat. Why not pop in for a delicious affordable meal to sit-in or take-away. Whatever you decide to do, dinner is likely to be under a tenner with the added bonus that you can buy a bottle of vino from the local wine shop and enjoy it at home or at the deli.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast for all day long”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The food was nice cooked. A must go place for breakfast. Very easy to find and very good service. You eat in the morning and then you are hungry again in the night as in every Scottish breakfast. As for the cholesterol ... Don' t bother to exam yourself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stenloese, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

we had rented an apartment through airbnb and owner Rachel told us about this cafe. We ordered the breakfast buffet and it is the best breakfast we've ever had. Cheap and super delicious. Fun and cozy place with a nice atmosphere. Friendly staff and good service.Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had breakfast twice on our 4 day stay in Edinburgh. Amazing full english breakfast, nicely cooked like at home and great coocked (not can) beans. My friend had porridge and was very happy too. Nice selection of cakes and pastries. We also had 2 sandwiches take away, fresh and well chosen ingredients.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average Food, Atrocious Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Some of the most disinterested and unfriendly service I've ever received. And the famous beans are watery.

The whole experience of waiting in line to be told to find your table, then return to the line to order, back to the queue to get the missing butter for toast, yet again to the line to get the missing milk for tea and then to queue YET again to pay was dispiriting. Perhaps if the staff had cracked a smile or not pointedly looked the other way when I was sat at my table trying to get their attention I may have felt the shambolic system was "quirky".

In an area that is packed with many excellent places to eat this cafe needs to pull its socks up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Funky café with yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Spotted this café while I was wandering around the New Town today and went back for an early dinner. I had the Ramen Noodle Soup, which was delicious – and a pot of tea, which was also really nice. Contrary to other reviews, I thought the staff were friendly and helpful. Great value for money – I’ll be making a return visit

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broughton Delicatessen and Cafe also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Broughton Delicatessen and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broughton Delicatessen and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.