We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast
110 Glasgow Road | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8LP, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I and a friend stayed at Thistle Du for one night prior to flying out of Edinburg for home. John and Margaret are just lovely, down to earth people, cheerful and so welcoming and helpful. They booked a restaurant for us, called the cab for the airport and advised us where we could walk to find a grocery nearby. Their home is beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable; the best flower pots and baskets in the area adorn its front courtyard and there is a lovely garden in back. Lovely tea tray in the room. Breakfast was delicious, especially the porridge. We slept well, ate well and felt renewed for the long trip ahead because of their kindness and hospitality.

Room Tip: The family room, though not large, is well laid out and works quite well for three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rye, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in the family room for 3 nights at the Thistle Dhu..Very welcoming hosts very clean rooms..lovely breakfasts...Bus stop to city centre directly outside..would not hesitate to stay again...Perfect..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Since 2009 I have now stayed here more times than I can remember, it's the best B&B I know and look forward to many more visits. It's location is ideal if you're flying to Edinburgh and has good parking if driving. It's close to town with excellent buses but not so close that its noisy and hectic. John & Margret are so friendly and helpful & I would recommend it to anyone.
Cherry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at Thistle Dhu in December 2011 and found the hosts John and Margaret so welcoming and friendly, an absolute delight. We loved our twin room which was very comfortable and had everything one could possibly need.
This year we found that we unexpectedly had to return early from our holiday. We contacted John for a room for the night we flew into Edinbugh. There was availability. It was late when we arrived, but that did not phase John, who was there to greet us. It was like being met by an old friend. We had a fabulous sleep, very comfortable. Then, the breakfast. It was sooo delicious, we ate every scrap!! We left Thistle Dhu, very full, but happy, and continued our journey.
We hope Margaret that you are feeling much better by now. We were sorry that we missed you this visit.
This B & B is so very comfortable,very quiet despite the busy road , and breakfasts to die for! Best of all, a lovely couple who will go that extra mile, and nothing is too much trouble.
Thank you so much John and Margaret. We shall probably see you in 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the back garden. I think there may be a room to the front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having stayed in many B & B's and teally enjoying them, we were looking forward to what Thistle Dhu would be like. We stayed on two occasions, both on our inbound arrival in Edinburgh for two nights in the family room and on our outbound journey on the main level. Although the rooms are very small, there is nothingmto want for including iron/ironing board and hair dryer. John & Margaret were like old friends greeting us and made us feel right at home. Breakfasts were delicious and they were both generous with their time when it came to helping with directions, buses, explaining tours or whatever else we needed or wanted. Special kudos to John who was up extra early on our departure day to make sure we had some toast, coffee and cereal before our early. trip to the airport.....even though we told him to stay on bed! Well worth a stop here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed with Margaret and John in mid July for the Madonna concert at Murrayfield. Wished we could have stayed longer then one night as they made us feel so welcomed and it felt like staying with friends!

Our twin room on the ground floor had everything that we needed including hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, ensuite shower room and free wifi.

Margaret kindly helped us out with bus times calling the bus company on our behalf. The frequent buses and cheap fares made it so easy to get in and out of the city centre. We actually walked back from Murrayfield after the show and although it was about a 3 mile walk, it didn't feel like it.

Breakfast next morning was superb - nothing was too much trouble for the hosts.

Would highly recommend staying here to anyone wanting a room in Edinburgh and I would definitely return if and when the chance arose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Alison and I Have been visiting friends and family in the UK for many years. We try to visit every other year. In our travels all over we have stayed in many B&Bs. Several years ago we decided to try flying into Edinburgh instead of London. We found the Thistle Dhu web site. I called and spoke with John. I was truly impressed with his friendly, helpful and honest conversation! We reserved a room and upon our arrival were welcomed as if we were "old friends". We were shown to a beautiful, comfortable, clean en-suite bedroom. We have now had the pleasure of staying with John and Margaret, eight times. We feel as excited about visiting them today as we ever have (and that has been ever since we first met them)! We like to think of Margaret and John as not only our hosts, but also as friends!! We are very proud to recommend Thistle Dhu! Bill Cox, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Room Tip: We have never been disappointed with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast

Address: 110 Glasgow Road | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Dhu Bed and Breakfast is a 3 star comfortable non smoking detached family bungalow conveniently located on the main Glasgow Road A8, 4 miles from Edinburgh city centre and 2 miles from Edinburgh Airport / Ingliston, 2 miles from Edinburgh Zoo and 3 miles from Murrayfield stadium, there is an excellent bus service to the city centre and the airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list