We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hamburgers and vegetarian fare; stylish and family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole - Cafe & Bistro - CLOSED

Metropole - Cafe & Bistro
29-33 Newington Road, Edinburgh, Scotland
0131 668 4999
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Charming cafe/bistro in the heart of Newington. We love our coffee, food and wine & believe that you should not have to break the bank to do so. All of our dishes are prepared freshly and we use local suppliers.
genEva_44
2 reviews
“Great hamburgers and vegetarian fare; stylish and family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have lived in Edinburgh for half a year and Metropole is so far my favorite restaurant. Of all the hamburgers I have tried in this town, theirs are consistently the best. But when I am not in the mood for hamburgers, they make delicious chicken skewers, couscous, excellent falafel and sweet potato fries (chips?) among other things. I appreciate their simple regular menu which allows them to focus on the quality of the meals offered rather than offering a large quantity of choices (and of course they offer varying nightly specials). The place itself is casual but quite stylish, good music played at a low volume. They even offer free wireless. Everything I have said before would be sufficient to make me a regular customer, but what really endears me to the place is the way they treat me and my young children every time we go. Not only do they not give families with young children the cold shoulder, they are quite good natured and patient with any antics (and there have been a few). I don't know many places that I would feel comfortable to bring my kids but still want to go there when I am alone or with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“definately worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had lunch in the Metropole yesterday, EXCELLENT. Service was great 2 male workers were so helpful, and friendly, when food came yummy! yummy! I had soup and flat bread sandwich, and my husband had fish, which he said was delicious, it was such a relaxing place to be, and excellent value for money. Will be re-visiting very soon again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fab and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went with our two young kids (3 and 4), was a wonderful wee Sunday treat. Excellent quality for an amazing price!! The starters of black pudding and mackerel pate were lovely. We both agreed the skirt of beef was wonderful, having both had this cut several times it can sometimes be a hit or a miss depending on how it is cooked. But this time was perfect full of flavour and cooked perfectly. Service was great very attentive, friendly and accommodating!!! Can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hot & Cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner ate here today and the food was excellent. However the restaurant was really cold which let the place down. We had to move tables because of the draft and after out perfect food we had to leave to go for coffee and to warm up.
I will definitely be back but maybe not in the winter....

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“The best coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Metropole serves my favourite cup of coffee in Edinburgh. If they could only get the food nailed, they'd be top 10 on Tripadvisor. Last time I ate there I ordered felafel. It was unfortunately, rather tasteless. The menu used to be rather good in here but in recent years it's changed twice (change of owners?). The tasty nachos are long gone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropole - Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole - Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.