We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Guest House to your Saves list
Queens Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   45 Queens Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH , Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cumbernauld
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

arriving at the guest house with friends Gary the owner welcomed us all warmly, we were shown to modern, immaculate well equipped rooms. breakfast was served, (not too early) and the choice was great. location was superb, service was second to none and the cleanliness and standard of the room would be hard to beat. i would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    75
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
92
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

First class customer service and this from someone who has worked in Tourism for over 20 years in several countries. Service from Garry and the team was personal , tailored and nothing was too much trouble. Location excellent, decor beautiful , a home from home with lots of added special little extras. Will definitely return. A special find and a jewel in the crown for Scottish Tourism.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

What a wonderful stay, Gary could not have been more helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. All our rooms were fitted to a high standard and cleanliness was of a high standard. Would recommend "Queens" anytime and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Queens guest house is in such a brilliant location its 5 minutes from princess street! Gorgeous rooms and spotlessly clean! Very well furnished with modern features and a warm atmosphere. Gary the owner was great and served a fantastic breakfast :-), we all had a lovely time! I would totally recommend it! Will defo be returning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

The location was great but the quality of service was extremely poor.
On arrival we were told by Gary the owner that he'd double booked which made us have to change rooms twice. They weren't very helpful and were quite rude a points.
The final straw came on the Sunday morning WHEN WE FOUND A RAT IN OUR BEDROOM!!! And didn't even get any money reimbursed!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

The best guest house full stop , had a great time and we were looked after well by Gary the Manager , Right next to princess street and the train station !!! Cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed at the Queens Guest House for one night with family to celebrate my sister's birthday. We received a very warm welcome from the owner Gary from the moment we arrived. The hotel was decorated in a contemporary style and to a high standard. Our room was spacious, spotless and contained everything we needed. I woud recommend the Scottish breakfast as this was excellent! The hotel was ideally situated to visit Edinburgh's attractions, nightlife and just a short walk from the railway station. Thanks to Gary and staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Address: 45 Queens Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.