We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Guest House to your Saves list
Queens Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   45 Queens Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH , Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Guest house ideally located to explore Edinburgh. I have seen a few reviews complaining about the breakfast. We had no such issues during our stay, and the staff offered to arrange one for us on our last day as we had to leave early to get to the airport.

Our room was in the basement and while spacious was affected by a lack of natural light and the noise of being next to the managers office which was in constant use all day and night. The bathroom included possibly the biggest shower area i have seen and was a pleasant bonus.

Everything was clean and tidy and all staff were helpfull.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    75
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
92
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights here in a family room. Very friendly staff but all beds were sleeper couches, there is no parking (I was led to believe there was some), the room was very noisy (room 11 facing a busy road) and the breakfasts were abysmal (cold everything and only one way to do an egg -hard). The rate of £300 a night was ridiculous considering what you get. Won't be staying again and would urge others not to either.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff were all lovely, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was adequate but spotlessly clean. Breakfast were a bonus - plenty of choice! The food was very hot so no complaints there. A bit pricey but our stay was for The Fringe

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having never been to Scotland before we started by flying to Edinburgh. We booked the guest house over the internet and where delighted with both the accommodation and the location. The staff were really helpful, the room was excellent with an enormous ensuite. The breakfast was very good and being able to walk down into princes street in a few minutes was a real bonus. Loved it and hope to go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A well run establishment. Staff was friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean albeit a little small. Great breakfast. Convenient location. A little expensive but worth it. I would recommend it to friends.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

hotel clean,big bedroom but breakfast poor.First morning had to send 2 scottish breakfasts back as cold.bacon was horrible so was the sausage.second morning dry poached egg tasteless,third morning egg and beans on toast were cold after waiting 20 mins for this to arrive,so i took them into the kitchen and asked for them to be put,into the microwave.waiter said cold again! on the last day we had a very good breakfast at cafe rouge at last a decent full english breakfast.when you pay your bill,if you pay cash like i did,makesure you have the exact amount as i was told to go to a shop to change a note,luckely we managed to scrape together the money-very customer friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Address: 45 Queens Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.