We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returned guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burns Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Burns Guest House to your Saves list
Burns Guest House
67 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“returned guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in Burns B&B 3 years ago so I looked it up again on my return to Edinburgh this year. I was a bit apprehensive when I heard of new ownership. Ruth and Agus have maintained the same high standards maintained by their predecesser. As a single occupant I shared a bahroom with one other person whom I never actually saw don't know if it was a man or woman so it was not a problem.B&B is clean central and great value for money. I wish Agus and Ruth much success and will be calling again on my next Edinburgh visit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
18
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in July in an en suite double bedroom. Very handy location for walking easily into Edinburgh centre, in a road with lots of other B&Bs. Ruth and Agus were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. This B&B was comfortable, and had everything we were looking for in a B&B. Location was for us the most important factor, as we only spent 2 days in Edinburgh. It was about 10-15 minute walk to Princes Street.

Room Tip: We had a double ensuite room at the top of the house. I got the impression that rooms on lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bootle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

just a 10-15 minute walk from Princes St, (also 2 buses to town which stop almost outside) this B&B is great value for money in a great location. Ruth and Agus are a lovely young couple who are polite, helpful and make sure their guests are more than well catered for.

in a single room I had to share a bathroom with 1 other room, but this surprisingly was not a problem. it was clean and comfortable with excellent facilities. (TV, tea making facilities, small basin, hair dryer, more than enough storage space for clothing)

Breakfast was cooked to order and eating area was extremely comfortable.

it's clearly popular as it was full when I was there, with people of many different nationalities.
I will certainly use this B&B again and will also recommend it to friends. The old days of the scary B&B landlady have been well put aside with this wonderfully modern approach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely stay in Edinburgh. Burns Guest house is only 10mins walk from the Castle/Royal Mile and Ruth and Agus were lovely hosts. The room was spotless and the breakfast was great! We definately would stay again!
(Paul+Cheri, N.Ireland).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwyz, Schwyz, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at Burns Guest House. The hosts Agus and Ruth are very very nice and friendly!
The rooms are small but cosy and clean and well equipped (hairdryer, TV, water boiler,..)
The house is ideally situated for people who would like to walk to the city- center (about 10-15min.) and there is no traffic noise.

- Unfortunately is the wifi on the 3rd floor extremely weak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ruth & agus are very nice, the rooms are very clean and quiet. The breakfast is good and from the b&b you are in 10 minutes in the citycenter. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tübingen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

You get your breakfast cooked and served to order which is a rare quality.
Burns is located very close to the Grassmarket but on the quiet side of Lothian near the new canal. Perfect location of EIFF-visitors - all theatres are a mere 10min walk away!
My room was cozy, spotlessly clean and equiped with a hot water cooker + tea, coffee, cocoa-drink and cookies.
Free WLAN worked fine.
Only thing you really need to pay attention to: you can only check in at 3pm which is not so great when you arrive early in the morning. But you can leave your luggage in the meantime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burns Guest House

Address: 67 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Burns Guest House, Edinburgh. Our Edinburgh Bed and Breakfast accommodation is a popular and comfortable guest house, with private parking, only 1 mile from the Edinburgh Castle and Princess Street. The accommodation is within walking distance to the the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC), superb pubs, restaurants, theatres, cinemas, and cashline (ATM). Free Wi-Fi access is available. Limited free private parking spaces are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Burns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burns Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burns Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.