We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bakery in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manna House Bakery and Patisserie

The Manna House Bakery and Patisserie
22-24 Easter Road, Edinburgh EH7 5RG, Scotland
0131-652-2349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #344 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: Open since 2005, The Manna House is a local craft bakery and patisserie with a small cafe so you can enjoy our sweets and savories to eat in. We bake fresh bread everyday Monday to Saturday – producing everything from white bloomers, multigrain loaves and wholemeal harvesters to more unusual bread like rye & caraway or black olive sourdough.We specialize in fine French patisserie and can make wonderful celebration cakes to order - our carrot cakes, chocolate brownies and blueberry bundts all have a big following.Franco our savory chef makes fresh salads and tasty treats everyday to sit in or to take away with quiches, fresh pizza and pies among our favorites.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best bakery in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic coffee, strong & well made. Sour dough is amazing; I travel all the way from East Lothian (by bus) just to get the bread. The price of bread is great value compared to other craft bakeries out there. I do find the salads and some savouries are now a bit pricier than they used to be but the patisserie is still good value, and the £3 hot roll & coffee deal is excellent for breakfast. Only downside is that it is so popular it is pot luck if you can get a seat (but think you can reserve a table).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Classy cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a bakery with a few rustic tables squeezed in and a couple outside. They serve fine coffee, simple snacks and salads but the French patisserie are excellent. Combine this with friendly service and fresh food, makes this the cafe of choice when shopping at Meadow bank. Needless to say it is very popular and you will be lucky to get a table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unbeatable everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

All of the food is absolutely fantastic! The breads are to die for. Everything is presented beautifully, the atmosphere in the small dining space is comfortable and relaxing, and the service is quick and courteous.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little bit of patisserie heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The only trouble with going in to the Manna house is getting out again without buying one of everything they sell. Not that the staff are pushy, very far from it, but everything is just so utterly tempting. And when some of it is gluten-free as well, there is no escape, and temptation unlimited. The range of salads is really interesting - not just bundles of green stuff - and the soups are excellent. But the bread.....oh, the bread!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favourite bakery, my least favourite coffee. Ouch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Picture it. You’ve worked hard all week, not a moment to oneself, but that’s ok, because you’re off Saturday, Sunday and Monday. Working, waiting, anticipation, working, then there it is, Saturday morning and it’s a beautiful morning at that, so beautiful that on my way into the Manna house Bambi skipped past me and wished me a good morning and bluebirds sat on my shoulders giggling and chirping. “Take away latte please”. Not a problem of course. I picked some bread whilst my goggle-eyed other half eyed up the cakes like they were French totty. Good bye Manna House. Mmmm, morning coffee. YYYYYEEeeeeeeeoowooowooooooowwwwww! Burnt tongue. Thanks, really, thanks a lot. Now I can’t taste your bread, your cakes, nor the nice lunch I’ll be having this afternoon and dinner neither I would imagine. Bambi now looks more like a troll, and the bluebirds have turned into bats and bu**ered off. Perhaps a wee course in coffee making for your staff, nice coffee to match all the other wonderful delights you have on offer. Meantime i'll get the savlon out, not quite the taste I was after.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manna House Bakery and Patisserie also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Manna House Bakery and Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manna House Bakery and Patisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.