We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh House

Edinburgh House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Edinburgh House to your Saves list
Edinburgh House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Warmly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Mother and daughter team keeps a warm and welcoming establishment. The rooms are a nice size, not at all too small if you compare with other places! It's quite near the center of town, a 10 minutes walk or by bus. The rooms are nicely decorated, everything is fresh and tasteful. The sweetest tartan rug in the hallway. There's cable TV in every room. The bathrooms are spick and span, lots of towels and nice finishing touches. Shampoo, shower cream, soaps galore ... even a little basket of things you might need on a trip but had forgotten to bring along! Scissors, q-tips, cotton balls, needle and thread, etc, etc. There's a little cold box for your lemonades, and a hairdryer (in the form of a very funny duck). A large selection of coffees and teas, plus little bisquits, should you feel peckish! Breakfast is served by cheerful Mirella who is also a whiz with all kinds of useful information.
So I'm sure we'll be staying with them again the next time we are in Edinburgh. I can recommend them warmly to everyone. Best value for your money plus a little extra as well :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
23
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

our frist trip to edinburgh, we had a great time
'the room was very clean,and the breakfast was huge with a good selection.
Theres pleant of bus that go pass the end of the road.but it`s a nice walk to the center.with plenty of shops on the way.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Will definitely stay here again if we come to Edinburgh in the future. Owners were helpful at all times. Very convenient for buses and restaurants. A really good Italian restaurant just across the road.

Only criticism is that we would have preferred to decide on our breakfast on the morning and not having to decide the night before. Sometimes you do not know what you will fancy to eat until the morning. I have never stayed anywhere where this was the case.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

we had a great time. Good breakfast, welcoming feeling.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We travel for the Festival each year and have stayed at Edinburgh House each August since 2001 and now consider it our home in Edinburgh. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable, the breakfast is huge in size and choice, and you always get a warm and cheery welcome.

The location is brilliant - 10 minutes walk from Princes Street, and there are lots of buses to take you further afield if you don't fancy the walk. Plenty of good restaurants closeby too!

Can't wait to be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edinburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh House

Address: 11 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round, Edinburgh House is a small mother and daughter run guest house in a traditional tenement building only a short walk to city centre attractions like Princes Street, Calton Hill, The Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle. There is also a good bus service to the city centre if you don't feel like walking! We have a variety of restaurants nearby, and the Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre is only a couple of minutes walk. All of our rooms are finished to a high standard with en suite bathrooms, multi-channel digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers in every room. Also, free wifi internet access is available. We operate a strictly non-smoking establishment. Should our guests have any special requirements (such as booking a taxi, arranging flowers etc) we are happy to oblige. Nothing too big and nothing too small for us! We also speak French and Italian for our foreign visitors. We look forward to welcoming you as guests to our B&B soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Edinburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh House Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.