We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duthus Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Duthus Lodge to your Saves list
Duthus Lodge
5 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Duthus Lodge and had a wonderful stay. The owners were very accommodating and willing to help out in every way possible. They were able to give us precise directions to all of the events and our needs. Also, the breakfast was brilliant!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My family spent only 1 day in this lovely B&B on 20 Sept 2012. Despite of this short stay, Kay and Murdo made us felt we were at home. They explained to us the wonderful places to visit in Edinburgh especially how to avoid from getting a traffic ticket (just a joke). The location of the Lodge is very convenient and the Lodge was well looked after with beautiful flowers and delicious breakfast. The hygiene condition was excellent, everything was neat clean and tidy. One more thing to mention, the silly bulldog Blacken would be looking for your sausage ...please don't let him down. He might not looks very friendly but in fact he is very kind at heart. Please consider this Lodge next time when you go to Edinburgh. I would give a 11 out of 10 rating to this Lodge. Well done Kay, Murdo and Blacken.
Andrew Fung and family from Hong Kong

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Came over from Dublin.Booked over the phone after reading reviews on here. Wasn't disappointed. Kay and Murdo are very friendly and the room was clean. A fine breakfast too the next morning.
It was booked out for my next visit unfortunately.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

my girlfriend and I stayed at Duthus Lodge for 1 night and the xperiece will certainly make us return.
The couple who run Duthus are ever so friendly & nothing is too much trouble.

Great location for a nice walk into town or the bus stop is right outside taking you into the city centre. The room was immaculate, spacious, clean with plenty of refreshments. The breakfast the next morning was also superb.

All in all, a 5star experience. Would highly recommend any couples, or anyone else infact, looking for a place in Edinburgh to head towards this B&B.

Credit to the owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have stayed at this B&B 3 times. Kay and Murdo are great hosts and their breakfast is fantastic. The B&B is spotless and very convenient to the city as well as bus stops right out front. An added convenient is being able to purchase day tickets right at the B&B. You must have Murdo show you his prize 1960 Triumph as it is fantastic. Also, enjoy meeting Bracken their puppy.

Room Tip: When traveling in Scotland you should start looking about 4pm in order to get a room. In big cities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a large family group. The rooms were very clean and very nicely appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable. We were awakeen every morning by a wonderfully cooked Scottish breakfast that stuck with us most of the day. The owners were great and provided wonderful suggestions to restaraunts in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Have just spent two nights here and very happy with our stay. We were upgraded to e triple from double, probably because the place was not full during our stay. I had arranged a flower delivery to the guest house prior to our arrival which was kindly placed in the room as requested. A vase had also been left for us to use.

The room was very well presented and very clean. The en suite was small but it did the trick for us! The double bed was a very small double. It was comfortable but too small for us; I am 6'3" though!

The breakfast was great, full fry up with cereal, yoghurt etc also available and nothing was too much trouble for the owners.

Location is good with bus service from just outside running into the city centre for just £1.40 each way!

Would stay here again if we return to Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duthus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duthus Lodge

Address: 5 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Duthus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duthus Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duthus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.