We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Brunton Place Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Six Brunton Place Guest House
Save
You added Six Brunton Place Guest House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Brunton Place, Edinburgh EH7 5EG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
ayrshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed at 6 Brunton Place on saturday night. My wife and I were bowled over by Sue's hospitality. Our room was lovely and the bed very comfy. Lots of lovely touches - chocolate and flapjacks, beer and wine in fridge in the beautiful lounge. Our breakfast was outstanding and the service really was second to none. Thank you Sue for a lovely stay. We come through to Edinburgh a few times per year and we will definitely be staying with you again. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
221
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

What a fantastic B&B - you can see why the Scottish Tourist Board gave it 5 stars! Lovely room with a really luxurious en-suite. Lots of lovely little touches - soft sheets and towels - little home made cakes and even bars of Green & Blacks chocolate on the tray for making tea and coffee. Your own front door so you can come and go as you please. Excellent location for sightseeing or restaurants and pubs. Terrific breakfasts - even for us vegetarians with plenty to eat and delicious vegetarian haggis all served in an elegant Georgian dining room. TV, i-Pod docks and everything you need all provided. The owner (Sue) was really lovely and made us feel right at home. She was really helpful in accomodating our slightly fussy eating. Nothing was too much trouble and she recommended a couple of nearby restaurants for dinner which were also really good. A really smashing little find this - much nicer atmosphere than a big anaymous hotel and very good value. We definitely plan to stay again next year and I've just recommended it to a colleague at work who is going up to Edinburgh in the summer. Absolutely great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

After being so bitterly disappointed that our holiday to Rome was cancelled due to the Iceland Volcano, we did a last minute booking at Brunton Place for a weekend to Edinburgh. What a delight it was to stay here. Sue was so friendly and accomodating, felt more like visiting a good friend. We stayed in the garden room which was so comfortable. Everything from the fantastic bathroom and the amazing full cooked breakfast to those little touches that us girls especially like, like homemade flapjacks and chocolates to the white fluffy towel robes. We didnt want to leave. Our first trip to Scotland and certainly not our last, we will be back Sue. Thank you for making us feel so welcome

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

The second time that I have stayed here and the first time for my fiance. We both love Six Brunton Place.
Sue offers a fantastic place to stay and is a very welcoming hostess.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Just got back from a 3 night stay at Six Brunton Place - it was a real highlight of our trip to Edinburgh. We stayed in the Garden room, which was equipped to an exceptionally high standard and beautifully decorated. The quality of service & the breakfasts were also outstanding. The owner was unfailingly helpful, and I can't think of a single negative of our stay. 10-15 minutes walk to Holyrood Palace or rail station, excellent bus links. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Our stay at Six Brunton Place was wonderful. From the spacious room to the heated bathroom floor, our stay was comfortable. Hostess is friendly and ensures that your stay is special, she has taken care of everything. With warm welcome cookies, internet access, and a made to order breakfast at time of your choosing--this is a great place to stay--easy walk to all Edinburgh sites.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Impossible to fault! Sue Thompson is an outstanding host and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautfully decorated and filled with every possible little luxury. The bathrooms are stunning with underfloor heating and fluffy towels and bath robes. The breakfast is delicious washed down with copious amounts of fresh ground coffee and freshly-squeezed orange juice. We loved it so much much that we've booked the entire place for our wedding guests in June 2010.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Brunton Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Brunton Place Guest House

Address: 6 Brunton Place, Edinburgh EH7 5EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Brunton Place Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Georgian Guest House All bedrooms have luxury en suite bathrooms, cable TV/DVD/i pod dock and broadband. Quiet garden for guest use. Convenient city centre location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
6 Brunton Place Guest House
Six Brunton Place Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Six Brunton Place Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Brunton Place Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.