We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and affordable, good location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCraes's B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added McCraes's B&B to your Saves list
McCraes's B&B
44 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JR, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfy and affordable, good location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Decided on this B&B after reading all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and so glad I made the right choice.

The B&B is in a great location - 15 minutes' walk from the city centre, and 5 minutes' walk from lots of cafés and restaurants. As we used the B&B as our base to visit other parts of Scotland, John was kind enough to store our baggage while we were away.

We got to stay in all 3 rooms during our stay and can vouch for the comfort of each one of them. John made us feel very comfortable during our stay and was handy with good advice on where to go and what to do. When we were concerned about a flight disruption for our trip back home, he was kind enough to hold a room for us till our flight was confirmed, even though he had decided on not taking any bookings for the next few days due to a busy schedule. He was also flexible with check-in and check-out times as long as the room was available.

We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend McCraes's.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
60
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I followed the reviews I saw on tripadvisor, and it was definitely a good idea ! McCraes B&B is for people who likes to be in a quiet place, clean and stylished rooms, not like all the rooms in basic hotels. You just feel like you're at home, John the owner perfectly runs the place ! We forgot our electric adaptator and there was one in the room, everything is done to make things easier for the guests ! We really appreciate the fact to be a little bit out of centre, more quiet, and its actually not really far, 15 minutes walk, you do it with pleasure, we never took the bus during our stay ! The full scottish breakfast is amazing !! And what else...the bed is the best bed I've ever slept in !!! Thanks again John we'll come back for sure !!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Owner at McCraes's B&B, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review folks. I appreciate all reviews but am always particularly happy to hear that people feel so at home here. It's exactly what I'm aiming for and I enjoy welcoming people in who are looking for that during their stay. I look forward to seeing you both again before too long.

cheers

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Good Location, 10/15 minutes of nice walk from city center. Cosy Huge room, with bath tub. Very nice breakfast. I would totally recomend this place, if you want to visit Edimburgh. John, was also very helpful with some tips and directions to visit the city and the highlands.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good place to stay. Friendly, clean and warm. 15 min walk from the city center. These kind of place make you fell like returning to the city as soon as possible. If you have any trouble, any question or wish just ask John. He will be please to you help you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Overall quality of the place was really high including most comfortable bed I have ever slept, so clean and big room).. John was at there when we need and he is very helpful, friendly and kind. After staying one day you feel like you are at home more than a hotel. Location is 15-20 mins to the center and 5 mins by bus which is really good. We walked all the time and it was no problem at all. There are nice restaurants to have your dinner 5 mins from the place. Great value for the money. I will definitely stay at this place when I visit Edinburgh next time.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view is really nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Mc Craes's B&B is a lovely place to stay if you are looking for a city break in Edinburgh. The rooms are lovely and warm, the owner John is very kind and there when you need to. Relatively close from the city ( 15 min walking). really recommend this!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great location on quiet street within 15 minute quick walk to the Edinburgh Waverley railway station and about 5-7 minutes to the York Place bus stop. Owner John is friendly and helpful. Room was large, clean and well organized. Bathroom fitments look bran-new. Comfortable bed with additional Scottish woolen blankets. Wonderful breakfast. Breakfast room wide and stylish decorated. Very good price for so nice conditions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to McCraes's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCraes's B&B

Address: 44 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCrae's Bed and Breakfast is a family-run eco-friendly, organic guest house, conveniently located in Edinburgh's historic New Town, only a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We offer our guests affordable, high-quality accommodation that quite literally doesn't cost the earth as we strive to make a minimal impact on our environment and will help reduce your carbon-footprint while enjoying our wonderful city. We are a recently renovated, traditional Edinburgh main door apartment in a block that is over 130 years old and many period features, such as ornate cornicing, have been retained; the decor is a tasteful mix of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your McCraes's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCraes's B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCraes's B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.