We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turkish Kitchen

Turkish Kitchen
120-122 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 4BB, Scotland (New Town)
Improve this listing
Ranked #511 of 1,900 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: New Town
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very welcoming staff.
Tasty food.
I would definitely like to go back when they are in the=ir new larger premises just around the corner.
One criticism was the wine we had was poor - drinkable - but only just.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    9
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All round utterly superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Have been before and I forgot to review. What an excellent wee place and wonderful tasting food! The service was excellent and the kids were well looked after. Struggled to find room for my beers after all the amazing food. This place is definitely worth a visit and could be addictive!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Visited early one Saturday night. The food was quite tasty but nothing special and the same garnish came with both starters and main course which we felt was quite lazy. We only got bread with our starter when we asked. They didn't have Turkish beer and there was only a choice of one larger or cider which was disappointing. Although the food tasted ok it was nothing special and the ambiance and service were not great. I wouldn't go back when there's so much choice in Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

great meal.we had the choice of hundreds of resteraunts during our one night stay in edinburgh,and we decided on this one.good decision.we ordered a meze and i have never seen so much food in my life.it kept on coming.it all tasted great.was gutted when i couldnt eat any more.great food,couldnt fault it,just wish i could have ate more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went for a birthday meal and it was brilliant. Food was excellent and the staff/serivce was great. I will definately be returning and would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy good Turkish food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkish Kitchen also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Turkish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkish Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.