We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elderfields Guest House

Elderfields Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elderfields Guest House
Save
You added Elderfields Guest House to your Saves list
23 Spring Gardens | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8HU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

My adult daughter and I stayed here in May for 4 nights. This is a beautiful gem of a B&B, with a gracious, friendly hostess and lovely decor. Our twin room looked directly out onto Arthurs Seat which was wonderful to look out on first thing in the morning. We had comfy beds and everything was spotless. The street was quiet and is set in a nice neighborhood, where one felt safe to walk through in the evening. Breakfast was a variety of fresh fruit, toast, cereal and joghurt, as well as coffee and tea. The entire house is decorated with a lot of care and attention and with lots of antiques.

The location is easy to get to by bus or by walking down the Royal Mile. It is only a 10 min. walk from Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament. To Waverly Station, it is about a 30 min. walk up the Royal Mile.

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay there and hope to return there soon. I would highly recommend Elderfields Guesthouse to anyone looking for a warm, friendly atmosphere in a cosy and charming B&B..

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

While looking through photographs of our UK trip in 2008 I realised that I had not written a review of this lovely comfortable b&b. and it does deserve praise. We stayed in the front room overlooking the street and it was clean, comfortable and very spacious. The bathroom was also very large. The breakfast was a little different from other b&b's in that there was cold ham and other little unexpected treats. But there was plenty on offer and we enjoyed the change. Our hostess was friendly & welcoming without being intrusive. The location was good - opposite the park and only a short walk to transport. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We weren't sure what to expect at the Elderfields Guest House and were pleasantly surprised. The room was large and nicely furnished. The breakfast was delicious and a nice change from the standard English breakfast. I was thrilled to see fresh fruit, yogurt and cheese on the table. It is on a quite street a short walk from the Royal Mile. The host was very friendly, too. We stayed at other B&Bs that weren't as nice for a lot more - great value for money! Of all the B&Bs we stayed at on our trip, this was my favourite.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

I was a bit concerned considering I could find no reviews of this B&B. We were in room 3 which was very large! Everything was clean, and Maureen was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was much simpler here than my other B&B experiences which was nice for a change. It consisted of cereals, grapefruit, assorted berries, cheese, ham, toast and coffee or tea. The location is great since it is within walking distance to Waverly Station.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elderfields Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elderfields Guest House

Address: 23 Spring Gardens | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elderfields is situated in one of Edinburgh's residential areas and is a fine example of early Victorian architecture. The Elderfields Guest House was built around 1850 and is tucked away opposite the picturesque Queens Park and Holyrood Palace and close to the bottom of the Royal Mile. Princes Street is just a 15/20 minute walk away, with Edinburgh Castle dominating the local skyline. The Elderfields Guest House really couldn't be more convenient for visitors wanting to fully experience Edinburgh at its historic and vibrant best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elderfields Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elderfields Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.