We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni) (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peterborough, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I also got a relatively 'cheap' deal via Late Rooms. The room was £150 excluding breakfast. Having stayed at a number of hotels in the UK, I can safely say that this one is nothing special for the price. There is far better around and in Edinburgh I would recommend Hotel du Vin and Tiger Lily.

The service is very good at Missoni but, apart from that, I was struggling to see what was so good about this hotel. The free 'healthy' mini-bar, which other people have raved about, turned out to be water, coke, fizzy orange, milk and a bag of crisps. Apart from the obvious lack of alcohol (no doubt an excellent way to cut costs) I am struggling to see what was healthy about this given that it had full sugar coke and crisps in it!

The free films are a nice touch although mine did crash halfway through and when it re-started I had missed a chunk.

The pre-theatre menu was OK but, again, nothing spectacular.

Breakfast in the room came with a plate of pastries that were quite hard and very dry.

In short, the room and hotel were fine but, for the money, you would expect considerably more than just 'fine'.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    424
    141
    34
    25
See reviews for
190
1,072
71
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Great location, lovely decor, spotlessly clean, friendly service, modern rooms.....but hard to put your finger on it, but very less than perfect. Maybe a little souless, a little charmless, and WAY too expensive. For the money ( a basic room, booked via lastminute.com), you get no bath, and no brekkie. Now I can appreciate the need for different packages, but surely a bath is essential in a 5 star room????? (and at the rates charged). Having said this, the hotel was lovely, and the staff all very helpful. It just lacked that special feeling........sorry guys. Cocktails were OK - beautiful to look at, very expensive, but lacking in substance - a good description of the hotel as a whole.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Arrived at 5pm on a Saturday afternoon to be told that the room was not yet ready and no response from housekeeping. Consequently we had to wait a further 30 minutes before accessing the room. A cracked mug leaked coffee over the desk and two of the bedroom lamps failed to work..... no attention to detail and these faults were not picked up when the room was serviced the following morning.
At breakfast the following morning the staff were completely inattentive and it took more than 15 minutes to be served with coffee. Furthermore when I asked the restaurant manager for yoghurt I was told that they did not have any and that the chef was poping out to buy some! Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel.
Once again on our final morning the restaurant staff were again less than helpful taking another 15 minutes to provide coffee and take a food order despite the restaurant being quiet.
In short a trendy place with trendy staff who have no idea whatsoever as to what good service looks like or more worryingly do not care about good service, with the exception of Dean, the doorman, who was very helpful.
Customer services were very apologetic but looking at some of the other comments these appear to be common faults which are not being addressed so I feel that this hotel is trading on its style and image but has no substance at all.
The £600 for two nights b&b was not good value so next time in Edinburgh I will be going back to the Hotel du Vin which provides far better service for less than half the cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed for two nights when visiting the festival.

The good points:

1. Awesome location - it literally cannot be beat - you can walk everywhere easily.
2. Beds are really comfortable
3. Stayed in a Maggiore King (£410 sat & £270 sun) - free movies and mini-bar (nice touch)
4. The small gym is clean and has free Evian water
5. The safe was easy to use
6. Friendly staff
7. Breakfast is OK - the best bit being a massive bowl of raspberries (well, it's Scotland after all!)

The things that could be better:

1. Coffee machine was way too complicated - there are much simpler (and better) Nespresso machines
2. No bath and the shower was not a "blow you away" type
3. Didn't have lunch or dinner after having their Tiramasu (awful - just a glass of whipped cream with a biscuit in the bottom) or bombolino custard donuts (first one has no custard, the second the amount the same size of a pea) - although they did wipe the donut off the menu. I can only speculate what the food was like.
4. The design and "feel" of the place bordered on an upscale IKEA type vibe - although the curtains and bedspread/duvet were very high quality.

Overall, very enjoyable. The location means you are never too far from anything, and that alone makes it a good hotel.

I do question whether it's worth on average £345/night (you can almost stay at Claridges for a bit more), but maybe I'm being churlish/nit-picking?

Edinburgh is a beautiful city and the sun shone on our visit, so we were very happy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We enjoyed this slightly funky ultra-modern hotel as centrally located in old Edinburgh as can be. We have been to Edinburgh to participate in the summer festival, which is about the most happening place imaginable.
The hotel is pricey but we got a good rate by prepaying with one of the search engines.
We wanted a quiet room so were facing the back but the view still included centuries-old buildings around a nice courtyard. The room was not large but in Europe that is hardly unusual. Besides, at the rate we paid, the room was not in the upper category.
I ate breakfast once in their restaurant and it was delicious. Though we did not eat dinner there, it looks like they have an outstanding menu and the restaurant was popular. The staff was very knowledgeable, pleasant and eager to please.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london,uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

While at a conference I stayed here for two nights. It's a brilliantly situated location - minutes from the castle, the Glassmarket and literally scores of restaurants and bars. Make no mistake it is a modern affair - Missoni kilts on the bell boys and little pods to check in and out of. The rooms are well equipped - with complimentary soft drinks, snacks, internet and a wide selection of new and classic movies. A DeLonghi coffee machine in the room and spanking new Bang & Olufson TV - all in all - hard to fault.

My only possible complaint? The pillows were too soft... but that's personal!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Went for a week end of festival and the hotel is ideally situated for taking in shows and attractions - you're just round the corner from the castle and everything is walkable. I even popped back for a rest and some peace between shows. Rooms are comfortable if somewhat over-designed: I spent half an hour trying to persuade the coffee machine to work before discovering a kettle hidden on a bottom shelf with the slippers and the plug in the "wet room" didn't seem to work so the whole bathroom area became a bit of a flood zone. All the things you'd expect from a classy hotel are there - robes, mini-bar etc. Some nice touches - a mini bottle of proper milk in the mini-fridge so you can make proper drinks for example and free wi-fi. Didn't use the bar (full of trendies and not particularly attractive) or breakfast (cheaper and more flexible options in cafes 50yds away).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.