We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location. Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni) (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location. Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Right by the Castle on the Royal Mile. Easy reach of Princes St and George St just down the hill. The rooms are fantastic. Most comfy bed and best pillows I've slept on. Huge mirrored doors. Lovely showers. Very clean. Best of all was the staff. So friendly so professional always smiling. Always said hello and asked how you were. Felt so personal for a chained hotel. Have not experienced that at any other hotels I've stayed in. Breakfast good. Hot choices cooked to order from the kitchen. No scrambled eggs dried up on a buffet here! If u fancy buying a bath robe - £140 each!!! All designer stuff. Stayed 2nd floor view of Street. My only bug bear - you can't open the windows. Can't moan about anything else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Ambers2000

Many thanks for such a lovely review.

I am delighted to hear you found our staff helpful and our location excellent.

Should you return to Edinburgh we look forward to welcoming you back and please just let us know you require a room with opening windows as we also have these available!

Best regards

Hotel Missoni management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    382
    126
    30
    25
See reviews for
169
980
71
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here the 1st and 2nd July for my daughter's graduation. When we booked in the receptionist said she would get us a nice room. That night my daughter didn't sleep, first because of Spa music, which was reported to reception and switched off, and then by the thud, thud, thud of, what sounded like a very large person on a running machine. My husband's and my room was several doors away and this noise also woke us up.

We were moved from the first to the second floor and were not disturbed the second night and we also got a complimentry bottle of red wine per room; hardly compenstation for rooms we were unable to have a good nights sleep in. I have stayed in many 5* hotels before and never had this level of noise before. If a hotel fails to provide a room in which you can sleep I think it has failed as a hotel full stop. Another first was at breakfast, no bread on the buffet and, when it arrived, you had to slice it - a queue formed.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms nicely furnished but only 'dressing table' area had a television with no mirror you move across - very strange.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff and the location.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor - or take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Andreadanni

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay here at Hotel Missoni.

Firstly please let me apologise for the noise which distrupted your stay with us on your first nights stay. We do have a gym on the 1st floor which sounds as though was the cause of the noise in your room. This is on the other side of the floor and I can genuinely say that this is the first time we have had any noise issues from the bedrooms you were allocated. Thanks to your feedback we have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again.

As soon as we were made aware of the issue by yourself we organised alternative rooms for you and I hope these helped make your stay more enjoyable.

Many thanks for your kinds words regarding the staff which have been passed onto the team.

As well, I would like to mention that we do take all comments, whether good or bad very seriously and as part of the management team, we have periodic meetings with our staff to discuss guest feedback.

Best regards

Hotel Missoni Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I loved Hotel Missoni in Edinburgh, a design hotel that offers not only comfort but also beauty and artistic environment. Everything is planned to attrat guests: the decoration of the rooms, restaurant and bar, the entrance hall, the corridors, the elevators and even the space outside. The design of the hotel is exclusive and reflects the Missoni proposal of creating an intimate atmosphere as well as a very contemporary style that makes the hotel a unique experience in the old and rich scenario of the medieval city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Denize A

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It seems as though you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back here very soon!

Best regards
Hotel Missoni management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a cottage holiday in Lunan Bay, but decided to add an extra night with a stay in Edinburgh, so we booked Hotel Missoni. The hotel oozes modern design. It is so tastefully done, fantastic decor. The bar area is superb, beautifully designed & has a cool vibe in the evening. We arrived a couple of hours early, expecting to just drop our cases, but they were able to book us in. Staff were are all very polite, friendly & professional. It makes a difference when staff are properly trained - it showed. Room was nice & keeping with the modern theme. It all seemed very classy & exclusive. View however was not great, but that doesn't really bother us for a City break. Next time though I would book a room on the 3rd floor over looking the street. I think for the quality of hotel is was good value too. No complaints. However, my only advice would be not to eat in the restaurant. At breakfast there was a fantastic spread of cereals, pastries, cold meats etc. I decided to have a full Scottish - the sausage was a flabby sort of german style & tomatoes were cold ( not sure if they were just thrown on at last minute. I'am pretty sure it was cooked by someone who doesn't really know what a full Scottish/English breakfast is. We also ate there in the evening & felt the meal was at best ok. Best to book a meal at Castle Terrace - which is sublime. We ate there for lunch. It was just a shame the restaurant was better on our visit; but we would def come back to the hotel for a stay, it was excellent.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, over looking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Pegasus00

Many thanks for such a kind review!

It seems as though you enjoyed your stay and we hope that should you return to Edinburgh you will choose to stay with us again. We do have rooms with amazing views of Edinburgh so please just let us know for next time and we can allocate you one of these.

Kind regards
Hotel Missoni management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed one night for my wifes birthday. The staff definitetly had a great customer service attitude and from pulling up outside in the car they were very helpful. Their valet parking is expensive at £35 but very convenient as parking is a challenge in the area. The hotel is a nice change from the normal sterile and plain chain hotels with its funky styling. The room was great and comfy, bathroom was fine. My only comment is that we had the high cost Maggiore room and it wasn't particularly large or special compared to other "Superior" hotel rooms I've stayed in. Breakfast was fine with a good choice of food. We had free wifi but it wasn't working. The location is superb, stepping straight out onto the Royal Mile

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for a night, excellent stay! Lovely modern rooms with excellent shower! Great central location and friendly staff. Lovely little extra touches and the decor make the stay. Only slight gripe was wifi was down the whole time we were there, but only a minor issue. Will stay again for an Edinburgh break.

Room Tip: Try booking on last minute as a secret hotel, if you can work out which one it is, we saved £70 on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and were very impressed with his hotel.

Location is fantastic. Check in easy and staff superbly efficient. Room was lovely, a decent size and showers were bliss! Immaculate as well! Its the little things that count and the Complimentary mini bar was extremely well stocked with soft drinks as well as a coffee machine etc. This was very much appreciated and a lovely surprise. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and have never had this before - Only the token bottles of warm water on a table. Bathrobes and slippers too as standard. Bliss!

All staff in all areas were of a very high standard with a good positive attitude.

Only negative would be breakfast was expensive for what it was. Portions very small and not cooked to 5* standard. Rubbery scrambled eggs for example and toast was limited to one slice each
and made from the cheapest bread.

Next time we stay we would head out to one of any number of cafes near by for a cheaper and probably better alternative.

That said - we will definitely stay again and for longer! Already trying to work out when that will be!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.