We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian chic amidst cathedrals and castles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni) (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Italian chic amidst cathedrals and castles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The inside of this hotel was a total juxtaposition from what you find outside.
Color, prints, kilted bellman inside
Castles, cathedrals, amazing scenery outside
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Missoni. I found the Missoni prints and pops of color
were very welcomed after spending the majority of the day outside in gray weather.
The highlight of the stay during the Easter holiday weekend was a massage in the spa.
Unfortunately I did not pre-plan my spa appointments prior to arrival and the spa was entirely booked. Zoey offered to come in early to accommodate me. Not only was I quite surprised that she would do this, as I'm sure she had a full day ahead of her, she delivered one of the best massages I have ever had.
Her willingness to go above and beyond, expertise at her craft and the helpfulness of all of the staff that I encountered made this a very memorable visit.
I would much rather stay in a hotel with a more relaxed vibe as opposed to the stuffiness of the Balmoral or Caledonian. I will definitely be returning to the Hotel Missoni when I return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    375
    126
    30
    24
See reviews for
165
967
70
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Disappointed with this hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. It was more like an up market hostel than a 5star hotel. Wacky colors and patterns seems to be what this hotel is all about. No comfortable lounge area, only a strange black plastic chair in reception where there was no room at all We had to stand in a queue as there were no seats in the reception area. Staff in reception were polite and welcoming. The cocktail bar is like a 1950s cafe with booth type seating like an ice cream parlor. Not a comfortable or welcoming setting. Breakfast was adequate with the minimum of continental selection in a cold and sterile room though staff here were very polite. Coffee cold.
Staff in the bar seemed stressed and had no strawberries, orange juice and drambuie in the 30 mins I was there. They were "waiting for a delivery". All staff in the bar were very young and seemed to lack experience or confidence.
Would not return.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked out onto the street and it seemed bright but rooms to the back didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My new husband and I booked the Missoni for a little Minimoon prior to our actual Honeymoon for 2 nights of Luxury. How wrong could I be? The hotel is no more than a 3* shabby city hotel. Our room ' Maggiore' was extremely cramped with furniture that was poorly designed and maintained. The Minibar Cupboard had a very visible score about 6" in length. The glass top dressing table was chipped which could have resulted in a minor inury. The bedside tables were scored and scratched. The wallpaper was peeling off the ceiling. The bed throw was faded and very shabby. Overall the room was in need of attention. We ate in Cucina restuarant on our first night which was, for a 5* dining establishment, sub standard. Presentation was poor and quality of the menu and food was poor. After our first night I highlighted our findings with the Guest Services Manager. We were offered an upgrade however, as we were only staying two nights we decided it was too much hassle to pack and move rooms for a night. We did get a complimentary bottle of Prosecco in our room. Upon checkout another Guest Services Manager approached us and apologised for the state of the hotel and advsied that it is now looking at renovations and upgrades. However, paying circa £700.00 for a two night stay we felt extremely let down by the Hotel Missoni. It certainly does not live up tot he hype of it's name. On the plus side, yes, there is one, all of the staff were extremely polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in this lovely hotel so unfortunately did not get time to sample the Spa or the gym. I found the hotel modern, clean and friendly. The staff were helpful, pleasant and friendly which goes a long way when you are away from home. Although I live in another Scottish city not far from Edinburgh it is 20+ years since I visited last. I had forgotten how beautiful the city is and how great the shopping, bars, restaurants, historic places of interest are. Plenty to satisfy any tourist even us native Scots! Once again The Missoni Hotel is highly recommended for anyone visiting Edinburgh. It is quite expensive but as the saying goes 'you get what you pay for' and it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Checked in to this hotel for a short business trip and was delighted to experience something different to the mundane hotels I'm normally subjected to whilst working.

The stylish hotel is in a great location, close to all the shops but not in right in the centre, so not noisy at night.

I LOVED all of the Missoni trimmings. The design fabrics and small touches really made the place feel special and very VIP!!!

The room was small but adequately sized and again the interior design and trimmings made all the difference. A Nespresso and San Peligrino beverages in the mini bar adding to the feeling of quality.

Breakfast was a real treat of Italian delicacies or a traditional full breakfast. I tried both and they were terrific.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It would make a great place to stay for a romantic break or girlie getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a long Easter weekend here. The room was lovely - great design concept with enough space to feel comfortable. We had a view over the Deacon Brodie tavern on the top end of Royal Mile which sounds horrendous but the room was quiet and we could people watch every morning!

The hotel is perfectly located about 5 minutes stroll from the castle and equally close to the High Street/tour guides/Tron Kirk/St Giles Cathedral. Princes Street is about 10-15 minutes away. The train station is closer than we thought (go up the North Bridge straight onto Royal Mile High St) as too are all the bus stops/tour bus so accessibility to local transport is great.

Strangely our room was not cleaned on Easter Sunday but this may have just been an oversight on housekeeping staff rota.

The staff are really pleasant and helpful which makes all the difference.
Had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me and my wife have just returned after a 3 night stay over Easter at this hotel. The location is perfect as it only 20 meters from the Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from the castle. We walked from the train station and it took 10 minutes up the hill on the way there and 5 minutes down the hill on the way back. The hotel itself is very modern and vibrant and the staff were great. We booked a Maggoire room which is more than spacious enough for two adults (however the storage space is a bit limited but this is the only slight complaint). In the room there is a complementary mini bar which is replenished each day and you get half a bottle of white wine and half a bottle of red wine, bottled beer, water and soft drinks….all for free! We also had complimentary breakfast and could choose from the buffet or kitchen options. The Bang & Olufsen TV had free films which you would normally have to pay for. We were also told that we had 2 free items of laundry each day so we went home with next too no washing !!!! Give it to them in the morning and it is back by the evening. Give house keeping a call and they are there within seconds with and iron and board or anything else you require.

The hotel has a good lobby bar and the food quality in the restaurant at breakfast was fine. If you want your Scottish breakfast piled high then you may be a little disappointed but when you also have cereal, toast and pastries then it is more than enough. The hotel also has a Spa but we didn’t get around to using this.

The bathroom was lovely with a walk in shower and everything about the room and the staff was spot on. The windows are floor to ceiling so the room is bright and the decoration in the room and the hotel in general is amazing. I have stayed in some very nice hotels over the years and this was as good as any because of the location and the number of things which came as standard with the room. If you are looking for ‘grand’ and ‘opulent’ then this is not for you, if you like modern then definitely give this place a go.

Room Tip: We had room 307. A good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.