We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh colourful design hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni) (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #12 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fresh colourful design hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Striking colourful design from the entrance to the rooms through to the dining area. Hotel is full of attention to details. Located just near the castle. Make sure you book your dinner in advance, they are quite popular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    383
    126
    30
    25
See reviews for
169
982
71
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed in the Missoni for a few nights on a christmas break with my girlfriend and we both loved it. Right in the heart of Edinburgh it is in an ideal spot for seeing the sights. The staff were extremly helpfull and couldnt do enough for you. The room was fantastic, the bed was the largest one i've ever slept in! It was kitted out with designer equipment, bang and olufsun tv and ipod dock etc. Didnt eat in the hotel restaurant but it was always busy, did have an excellent cocktail at the bar though. Ideal for a nice modern romantic stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed with family over New Year, having been to Missoni a few times and liked it. However, cracks beginning to show. For example, we had three rooms, two of which had no air con (presumable as in the old part of the hotel) but we were not told - both rooms were stiflingly hot and the solution - to open the sah windows - wouls in the eveneing/morning of Hogmanay be seriously noisy! When we went to reception and mentioned, we weren't offered different rooms, rather fans if we needed! My wife and I were also given the smallest room of the three 9other two were single occupnacy) which ssemed unnecessary. our room had wallpaper peelin off at the seams in several places, the pant on the bathroom window had obvilusly been flaking off for some time and the bathroom door stuck on the tiles when trying to shut it. Additionally, the dirty glasses and empty bottles were left in our room and not cleared away/cleaned by tyhe servicing staff. Food was good tho restaurant too hot - daughters had to leave early to cool down) and front of house staff chherful and friendly.

Mentioned these items upon checking out and was advised by the clearly disappointed gentleman on reception to call him personally next time we booked and hge would ensure we got upgrade and better treatment. But would have been better to have reduced the not inconsiderable bill, as we likely won't be returning. A real shame as this was excellent when it opened.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night in mid January and got a reduced price deal, including breakfast. The staff are very efficient and friendly. There is valet parking available if you pre book and at a price, but compared with the multi storey car park prices, it's not bad.

The room was very nicely decorated with a good TV. There is free wifi, a coffee machine and an inclusive mini bar (coke, water, milk for coffee) in the room.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel and this was very good. Again the staff were great. As our room included breakfast in the rate, we could choose from the cold buffet as well as ordering something from the kitchen. I had the Eggs Benedict and it was lovely.

Really impressed with this hotel. Good central location and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited this hotel a few months back and had a fabulous stay. Hotel staff are very knowledgeable and helpful and make the stay most enjoyable.
The hotel location is great, right on the Royal Mile and close to the Castle. lots of things within walking distance.Checking in went smoothly, and off to the room we went.
The room was lovely, not very big but adequate. If you want a large room you better check before booking. It had everything you would need though, and the bathroom had lovely toiletries and soft towels.
Breakfast was lovely, a cold buffet to choose from, and then an a la carte hot menu, which came straight from the kitchen, so much nicer than having cooked eggs hanging around on a buffet. It was all very tasty.
The bar often gets busy as it seems a place people meet, drop in for a cocktail/beer as its right on the Royal Mile.
We didnt eat dinner here but im sure it would have been good.
It is a very good hotel, very trendy and has a nice vibe and would definately return again

Room Tip: Check sizes online before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Missoni is a place i have wanted to stay in for a long time, and was delighted when we arrived in Edinburgh at the start of the year. The door staff were friendly and couldn't have done more to help us on our arrival, but the room was a different story. For a five star hotel, I expected five star accommodation, this was not the case. The room was small, with dirty marks on the walls, the bathroom, although beautifully designed, looked shabby, with tiles missing and hadn't been repaired. We could hear movement of all the residents in the rooms adjacent to us, and with the wooden floors we could hear the people in the room above us evert time they walked across their floor. The noise from outside was terrible, the windows obviously weren't designed with sound proofing in mind, which made for two nights of little to no sleep. The air conditioning also leaves a lot to be desired. When i picked up something off the floor i was astounded at the dust and grime that lay on the floor around the bed, and when the uplighting on the headboard was switched on, you could see the dust stuck to the textured wallpaper the whole way to the roof. Certainly not what I'd expect form a five star hotel, and certainly not worth the money paid for two nights accommodation. Instead of leaving relaxed, we left hot, bothered and very very tired.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Guest Services Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear mgdm_13 ,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Missoni.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to the standard we normally deliver here at Hotel Missoni. As I am unaware of your reservation details I am unable to check if you raised these issues during your stay and would ask that you contact myself directly so I can discuss the issues with you personally.

Best regards

Scott Walker
Guest Services Manager

scott.walker@hotelmisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The Missoni hotel Edinburgh was good but didn't really feel like a five star experience.

We were greeted by a huge Christmas tree in the foyer which had seriously wilted and should have been removed- it gave a bad first impression.

The staff were helpful and friendly when approached, but there wasn't really any wow factor which we expected as our stay was expensive. The bar was understaffed so we had to wait a while for service.

The location is spot on but we wouldn't stay again as we feel there are better hotels in Edinburgh which are better value for money.

Under the bed hadn't been cleaned for a while either!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.