We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni) (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Fantastic stay !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here as a wee treat before we get married in a few weeks. We had a lovely stay. The hotel is beautiful with funky modern decor. The staff were very helpful. Would thoroughly recommend :-D perfect way to relax before our big day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    371
    126
    30
    24
See reviews for
164
963
69
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with our stay. Hotel has everything, great location, comfortable room with refreshments in mini bar, free newspaper, etc. Reception quick and painless, loving the doormen in their Missoni kilts!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We are just back from a night at the perfect hotel the room was everything you would expect from from a 5 star hotel The staff were great the meals were also lovely Both for dinner and breakfast It was very handy for the castle and royal mile. The mini bar and coffee machine was also good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Arrived one hour early and were shown to our room in double quick time.From the moment we entered hotel staff could not have been more attentive and welcoming. Room was well appointed with lots of nice touches.Coffee maker;free mini-bar, free films,fabulous toiletries et al Bed linen towels etc. were luxurious.We only stayed one night for a show and when we returned after show all towels used had been replaced by turn down staff. Did not have breakfast had lunch in restaurant instead.Late check-out big bonus.Lunch was beautiful very reasonably priced with great service. Had a few drinks in bar not a big fan of lobby style bars prices a bit over the top drinks very well presented. Would definitely return especially to try dinner in restaurant. Well done to all.

Room Tip: We had rooms on third floor 309 and 311 a bit of noise from nightclub across road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were very happy with the hotel. This is a modern hotel in the heart of old town. Very convenient location just on the Royal Mile and 5 min away from the Castle. The staff I felt perfectly balanced being helpful and nice without being too much in your face. They were always willing to help and gave some good ideas as to what we could do.

And, you have to try out the espresso machine in the room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Another stay in the excellent Missoni Hotel in Edinburgh. Staff are as ever helpful and friendly - a great welcome. The hotel's decor is very Missoni - stripes in all colours, different on every floor and even the lifts! Even the staff are in zigzag striped kilts (hmmm, not sure I was too keen on those)...but the rooms are very nice, tastefully decorated, well equipped, mini-bar full of drinks (all free), free wifi (which works), excellent toiletries and fabby showers. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stay in many hotels and in Edinburgh I usually stay in the same places each visit. But due to very high rates at my usual hotel, I asked American Express to recommend one and this happened to be the Missoni. I checked Tripadvisor before booking and saw the positive recommendations and then booked into the hotel for an overnight stay. Arriving in Edinburgh on the Caledonian Sleeper meant a very early arrival, yet the Missoni accommodated me and a room was made available at 8:30 in the morning. The staff were the best part of this trip, friendly and welcoming without going over the top. The location in old town was close to my meetings and just down the street from the castle which i decided to tour and have lunch in in the early afternoon. A business colleague met me in the lobby where we had coffees, and the staff had put out an amazing spread of holiday biscuits and sweets that would have melted the heart of any seasoned traveler. The room I booked was a standard, but the espresso machine and the elegant touches in the room portrayed a much more expensive hotel. No external noise, free wifi and very clean bathroom made my stay stress free. I will definitely stay in this hotel again on my next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.