We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni) (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Every year we spend a long weekend at Edinburgh Festival and for the first time this year we managed to book a room at The Missoni. It was the most perfect few days! The rooms are really fabulous and we decided to push the boat out and upgrade to a suite. Amazing! Spacious, stylish, quiet with the most stunning views right across Edinburgh. The staff were incredibly helpful, efficient and friendly. Biggest plus for us was the complimentary mini bar (and jars of sweeties at reception!) and the great breakfasts. This is not a cheap hotel but you get what you pay for (only criticism would be that the drinks in the bar are a bit pricey but it's definitely the place to be seen!). We will be booking early for next year to make sure we get in! Well done to all the staff and thank you for a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    424
    140
    34
    25
See reviews for
190
1,070
71
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

wanted to stay in a boutique hotel and missoni popped up on google. we're not old geezers but the lobby is a little too hip-happening for my taste. the doormen in missoni kilts are cute. the hotel is located smack in the middle of tourist central which was great for our quick trip. military tattoo was just around the corner. we weren't planning on going but the hotel had tickets for the night we could go even tho the event is sold out months in advance. the rooms are comfortable with free mini-bar (water, soda, milk, chips), wi-fi, plus 4-pieces of laundry. overnight parking is £35, reservation recommended. our room faced the back and was nice and quiet. the gym is pretty small but with all the hills in edinburgh, shouldn't need a gym (just climb up to arthur's seat or calton hill). we got in late the first night so ate at cantina downstairs. it's one floor up from the lobby so there's loud music still but not as bustling. the homemade tagliatelle is absolutely amazing. i loved the al dente texture of the pasta. we liked it so much, we had dinner there our 2nd night too. other food is very well-prepared too. service was a little slow but staff throughout the hotel are super friendly. the tv in our room was possessed. after turning it off, it would turn on again. we had to unplug it so it wouldn't keep turning on. i've never understood the half doors on european baths, which they had here too. the floor outside gets wet if the half door isn't long enough.

Room Tip: ask for quiet room if sensitive to noise. hotel is right on main streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here on last valentine for 2 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed it! I wish we couldve stayed longer however it is a bit expensive for good reason though

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We picked the Hotel Missoni because of reviews on Trip Advisor and its convenient location (one block from the Royal Mile during the Edinburgh Festival). We were very pleased with the hotel. It was very well located and appointed. But what really stood out for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Although everything wasn't perfect (for example we had booked a twin room and when we checked in we were placed in a double), anything we asked about was immediately and cheerfully corrected. For example, with respect to the twin room issue, the hotel acknowledged its error, moved our room, and gave us a compensating breakfast. I really liked this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

wow I loved this hotel very swiss and excellent staff. Was really close to castle and centre. Loved it well worth spending bit extra for couples night away. Beds really comfy and large.
Parking was £35 per night though we parked at NCP parking about 15mis away.

Room Tip: ask for higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for one night as we had tickets to visit the Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle. The hotel is ideally placed for the city centre at the corner of the Royal Mile and George IV Bridge - the castle is just a few minutes walk away, Princes Street a 5 to 10 min walk.
I had e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit, as it was my partners birthday and ordered a bottle of prosecco in our room for our arrival - my e-mails were answered promptly and politely and the wine was indeed in our room on arrival.
The room we were given was on the third floor but on entering we noticed a musty/damp smell. Admittedly it had been raining almost constantly for several days, but the odour was quite overpowering. We reported this to reception on our way out, who said that the staff would look into this. We arrived back a couple of hours later and were shown back to the same room, having been advised that a scented candle had been lit and the room had been re serviced. However, the smell was still there, so we were allocated another room on the 2nd floor - the staff couldn't have been more helpful, although a candle was never going to rid the room of the smell, only mask it. The rooms are nicely decorated and the "rain" shower in the bathroom was excellent. Found the coffee machine a little awkward to use and we did come accross a kettle, but no sachets of coffee! The fresh milk in the fridge was a nice touch as opposed to the usual cartons of UHT. Didn't eat in the hotel at all, as we were on room only rates through Travelocity, and very reasonable they were too (had booked well in advance though.) Despite the central location of the hotel, there was no noise as such from outside and we were unaware of any noise from adjoining rooms. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, affording us an unbroken nights sleep. Would certainly recommend this hotel for its location, polite and friendly staff and lovely bedrooms, but felt that if we had been moved to another room in the first place then it would have received 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Services_Missoni, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear ‘FraeFife’,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Missoni. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed polite and friendly service from our staff and that the bed was the most comfortable that you have ever slept in!

I am, however, sorry that you found the room you checked into to have a damp odour. Although this may have been caused by the heavy rain, we have not previously had any complaints regarding odour caused by weather conditions. We appreciate that you reported the issue to our Reception, team, however, had you expressed your alternative preference to move rooms straight away then we would have happily obliged. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

As, overall, your comments regarding your stay were very positive, we do hope you will visit us at Hotel Missoni again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Julianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gocatio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed for first week of the fringe here beg August. The position of the hotel is central and ideal. Staff are nice and friendly. Decor throughout hotel is joyous. Room sizes are fine and quiet (bar a child screaming running past ours at 7.30-8am for three days running and parent did nothing). The bedding is sublime and soft and bathroom lovely and freebies look pretty in contrasting colours only gripe was cleaning and bed changing was a little lax a couple of times. There is a Nespresso coffee machine in the room and generous fridge with water and cokes/orangina and fresh milk included. Breakfast is a bit steep at £13 for a cold buffet, consisting mainly of a variety of Italian cakes and £18 if you want to add a bowl of porridge or cooked items . . . i still can't understand why hotels can't include just a basic coffee/latte and a decent croissant for breakfast in the excessive amount paid to stay in any price category....
Missoni also let you have an item of clothing a day cleaned free of charge and you can add days up - brilliant idea. All in all - would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.