We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Fraser Suites Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a 3 night break here for the Easter weekend. We booked a deluxe double room at the cost of £338 for 3 nights. Quite pricey for what it was.

On arrival the receptionists were lovely. Our room was ready earlier than the check in time which was excellent.

The room - nice, kitchenette not what we expected, no jobs so you couldn't do any cruel cooking. No toaster either - this would been good. Just basically a kettle, fridge and oven based microwave. Room and bathroom were clean and well equipped.

Considering we booked a deluxe double room we were disappointed to be given to single beds joined an covered with double sheet and bedding :( also view from room was not attractive with building work going on outside which woke us up one morning.

The worse was the bathroom every time Yiu ran the tap or the upstairs or neighbours did the pipes shakes and made an awful noise - this was just a general annoyance. Other than that room was nice.

Good location of the the main busy street.

Free hot drink machine downstairs - when it's Woking that is.

Overal an ok place to stay though too pricey with a lack of hotel facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    306
    100
    45
    18
See reviews for
104
468
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I picked Fraser Suites for a two night stay in Edinburgh from a recommendation from our tour company. It turned out perfectly for us. We received a very reasonable rate from bookings.com so we were a little unsure what exactly we would be getting. What we got was an excellent room in a beautiful little hotel right on the Royal Mile within easy walking range to the train terminal and to all the locations we wanted to see in Edinburgh. The room, with its microwave and fridge was the perfect size for the two of us. It was quiet and comfortable. Staff was efficient, courteous and friendly. We would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a central location in Edinburgh.
Lorraine and Maurice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.
It's great to hear you found our property so convenient
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had an excellent stay at this hotel from 30 Mar to 3 Apr 2013, and am very pleased to be able to share this here on Tripadvisor.

The location in Old Town was right smack what I would consider central for a number of reasons -- step out of the entrance and turn left, and it's just at High Street which is the start of the Royal Mile (a stone's throw away from St. Giles Cathedral), turn right and you can walk towards The Mound and make your way to the New Town, and the Edinburgh Castle is also not too far off!

Everything's within walking distance and this makes the city centre of Edinburgh so accessible and pedestrian friendly.

Also, the lovely restaurant "Angels with Bagpipes" is just round the corner on the Royal Mile, opposite St. Giles -- do book in advance though. We enjoyed our lunch there very much and the feel of the restaurant (as with its food) is a lot more refined and delicate. But, back to the hotel...

There's a small convenience store up towards Lawnmarket St which carries things like packed sandwiches and water (sparkling included) -- great for a quick bite if you have an early morning tour to catch. We had to meet our Timberbush group one morning and managed to get some sandwiches from the store at 7.45am.

The room was very plush and well-kept -- it felt new and the place was elegantly furnished in creams and black. We had a room with a separate sitting area and that meant 2 TVs -- one in the bedroom and the other in the sitting room. We also had 2 ceiling high windows which were covered by Roman blinds and a heavier curtain which definitely helped to keep the cold out as it was super cold at night, like about 1 degree Celsius or so.

There was a small kitchenette area right next to the entrance of the room with a small fridge, sink, microwave oven, electric kettle and a box of assorted teas and 2 bottles of water daily -- still & sparkling. It was great to be able to make some hot tea when we needed to warm up.

The toilet was really clean and looked brand new! It had this heated towel rack that looked like a ladder behind the door, Peter Thomas Roth toiletries and a Villeroy & Boch bath tub (which had a rounded recess area near the front which served as a shower tray -- very clever design indeed as this meant that the rest of the bath tub doesn't get too wet!)

Provided in the cupboard was also an ironing board, iron, safe, bath robes and hair dryer.

We also had free Wifi which was great :)

The lobby area had a sitting space that was comfortable with tables, chairs and a coffee machine! They have a little box there for people to pay as they wish for the coffee. I was also very happy to find that they had a laundry room which guests can use free of charge.

We were greeted with very warm smiles and personable service which made me think the Scots are excellent in customer service as they are genuinely friendly, hospitable and cheerful.

There are 2 things to note about the room which I think they could improve on -- 1. The beds were too soft -- our double bed was actually 2 beds pushed together so besides being too soft (like a marshmellow), we also tended to roll inwards towards the centre, 2. The bath tub was quite high above the floor and there was no hand rail on the side, which is necessary after a bath when it gets a bit slippery to manoeurve out of the tub. The glass screen is also movable and holding onto that is not a good option.

Other than these 2 things, I had a really good stay and would love to visit Scotland again! :)

Room Tip: The lobby is on the 3rd floor, anything above it, I think, would be considered good? ;) Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
You very rightly pointed out just some of the local amenities that make our location perfect.
thank you also for your feed back about the access to the bath, we will look into that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very easy to find, close to everything and spotlessly clean - the fraser suites was just great. I am not the type of traveller who rises too early for breakfast so I didnt include it in my booking. On arrival we were told we were upgraded to an executive suite and it was jaw-droppingly fab! robes, slippers, nice toiletries for a change, very handy kitchenette which we used every day and some of the nicest hotel staff i've come across in a long time. Shops, bars and attractions on your doorstep - Porto & Fi on the mound just down the street a particular favourite find.
Big comfy bed, hot shower, clean fluffy big bath towels.......the list is endless - i would love to be back in that room. I really enjoyed Edinburgh as a city. The people are some of the friendliest I have ever met and the hotel staff were very pleasant no matter what the request.
I am not a fussy traveller - clean is really my only must have but this hotel was luxury to me. Lovely decor, proximity to both old and new town - the castle is only around the corner and up the little hill - all within walking distance. Great place to stay -

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent four nights at the Fraser in Edinburgh in late March. The weather was dreadful but the hotel was our haven in the storm and a more central location we could not ask for. We had a junior suite on the sixth floor with a view of the reconstruction next door and also Princes St if we leaned out! The room was very well appointed and oh so comfortable. The mini kitchen was a welcome additon and the bathroom was large and well equipped. Loved the heated towel racks and the rainfall shower that you could turn on after the water temp was adjusted! We paid more for the room than we normally do but it was worth every penny. The staff were friendly, helpful and good natured and offered many tips that enhanced our tourist experience. It's a long way from our home in western Canada but like MacArthur we shall return!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a reconstruction site which was fine by me - I like an active view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your fantastic feedback, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Our location could not be any better and this, together with the high quality rooms and suites and the brilliant team, makes us one of the best places to stay in this beautiful, buzzing city.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just had a two night stay at the Fraser Suites in Edinburgh for my mums 60th. We both had an amazing time. The rooms are perfect, so comfortable and beautifully decorated. No complaints only that we had to come back home :( the staff are exceptionally welcoming, not just at the hotel but the whole city. Really friendly people, very clean hotel, location is amazing, lots to see and do and situated in a fantastic location. Will be back for another break very soon. Thanks so much for all you did for us during our stay. You made mums birthday present one to truly remember:) x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

your comments have really made our day here at Fraser Suites Edinburgh. We all are delighted you and your mum enjoyed this special occasion with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are planning your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Arrived for a 4 night stay having asked for a suite with a view as it was my birthday treat.We were extremely surprised to be told we had been upgraded to a deluxe suite (room 613). The view over Edinburgh was amazing with triple aspect windows in the lounge, a view towards the castle from the bathroom and down towards the Scott memorial from the bedroom. The weather was bitterly cold but it was no hardship to come back to our suite,make snacks in the well equipped kitchen area and choose which tv to watch!! The bed was wonderfully comfy and the bathroom first class with a great shower. We had the cooked breakfast each day which was fine although service was a little slow. One of the best points is the location of the hotel - it can't be faulted as it's so easy to walk to all the main attractions and the station. There are plenty of places to eat out and you can buy gorgeous cakes at nearby Patisserie Valerie. All the staff were friendly and professional and reception was very helpful in telling us about the bus to catch to the Royal Yacht.There is also plenty of info.on local attractions. I think this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would definately come again. THANK YOU Fraser Suites.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a good view especially if you are staying for a few nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear judyh84,

I am delighted we had the opportunity to play a little part in your birthday celebrations! It is always a pleasure to assist our guests with special requests and also to offer our local knowledge to ensure our visitors get the most out of their holidays. I am glad that our efforts made your stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh special.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back at Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Regards

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.