We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Hotel - Lovely Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Suites Edinburgh to your Saves list
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brill Hotel - Lovely Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fraser Suites in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As my boyfriend's brother stays in Edinburgh, we usually stay with him in Edinburgh's New Town so it was nice to be in the Old Town for a change. We sidled up to the hotel before check in, at around 1 o'clock expecting to just leave our bags and check in later but were advised that our room was ready early which was great. We had a junior suite which consisted of bedroom which king sized bed, bathroom with power shower (always nice), living area with sofa and dressing table, and small built in kitchen. The hotel provided robes, slippers and there was an iron and ironing board in the cupboard. Check out the following morning was 11am and we had breakfast first which was of a good standard. Hotel in right in the centre of the old town and close to shops, pubs and restaurants. Also just a short walk to the shops of Princes Street. Overall happy customer - would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
...and we will be happy to have you back staying with us!

Thank you for your fantastic review, I am really pleased that your experience was what we want to deliver to every guest staying at Fraser Suites Edinburgh. As you said, the location is great, but if you add the friendly and efficient service, the brilliant rooms and the great breakfast, we really are the ideal place to stay in Edinburgh!

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly before your next stay or visit our website for the best deals.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    336
    112
    51
    19
See reviews for
114
511
50
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ararat
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A very impressive introduction to an excellent holiday. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful though the bed could have been more comfortable, very soft and uneven giving us a few nights of broken sleep..

Room Tip: Opt for an upgrade if available, we didn't and were a little disappointed in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the first weekend in December 2012 and couldn't fault it. As other reviews have already stated, the location is superb just off the royal mile and close to Waverly station and Princes street. The welcome we received at reception was very friendly and detailed. The man outline all of the hotel's facilities and offered us a map of the city etc. We were upgraded to a suite, which despite having a limited view from the window, was plush and roomy, with big snuggly bed, kitchenette, dining area, sitting area and two TVs. The bathroom was spacious with a HUGE shower and nice toiletries. I don't know why people have said that they found the showers hard to work as they really don't require rocket science! The black out curtains certainly allowed for a good night's sleep! As a result, we went down to breakfast at the latest possible moment (at 11am) and the waitresses were more than happy to serve us. Alas the weather was a wet while we were there and the hotel was happy to lend us umbrellas.

Okay so i can fault it - there was only one of each item in the tea tray and my husband pinched the only shortbread! However I could have easily rang reception for more.

Tip for a Friday night: go to The Advocate (step onto the Royal Mile from Fraser Suites, turn left towards St Giles, walk for a minute and then turn right down a bit of a hill, after Starbuck's and it is on the left). I am not a scrimper but the drinks were really cheap and there was a live band on until 1am. The atmosphere was lovely and I even let a group of 50 something ladies pull me up for a bit of a boogie for the last song despite there being no dance floor. Stumbling upon this place really made our night, particularly as it was raining and we didn't want to walk far!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind reiview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Within waking distance for everything Waverley station,castle,princes street the royal mile and grassmarket for lovely bistros and pubs . Spotlessly clean hotel and staff helpfull and pleasant, the view from room 514 was amazing looked over princes street and as it was new year the whole street and gardens were lit up at night. There are loads of other hotels near by but if you want class, style and superb location then stay here. If the price was right for hogmanay would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear marcushannan,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted you had a great time here during the Hogmanay celebrations. With regards to location, you cannot get any better when it comes to events in the city, everything happens on our doorstep, but the area is still quiet at night, so the good night's sleep is guaranteed. Hogmanay, Fringe, Edinburgh Festival, events on the Castle Esplanade or on the Royal Mile - we are right in the middle of the action.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this Hotel 4 months in advance, by the check-in on Monday there was only one available! This was a room aspecially equipped for wheelchair access, so the bathroom-sink was at 60 cm height! (not very handy when you are over 6Ft) There was no bath, only a shower,
Sorry there is more, the Microwave was broken, no manual for the electric cooker. We stayed here for 4 nights, I mentioned all this to the service desk, but they could not help, sorry no maintenance, very sorry! Further there was only light cleaning, no hoovering, no change of bed linen or bath towels.
Although of all this we had a lovely time in Edinburgh, the Hotel is a good location as a start for sightseeing the whole city.
On their Website they mention there own shuttle service from and to the Hotel, but no price. We took the shuttle bus and the price is 25 GBP. On the way back to the Airport we took the city AIRLINK bus, price 7 GBP (for 2)
By check-out after 4 days I managed to get a discount, we only had to pay for 3 nights instead of 4 nights. All in all we were disappointed with Fraser Suites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us. I am disappointed you left with anything but the perfect experience. I have addressed the issues with my team and rest assured, these matters were taken very seriously.

With regards to the lack of manuals and descriptions, we are in the process of updating our in-room guest directory, as we have added new things and services, including free wired and wireless internet. The information is getting printed now, so we will have them replaced very soon.

Thank you for mentioning the location, as you rightly said, we are the ideal place for a visit to Edinburgh be it for leisure or business purposes.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This visit was our second to the fraser suites, Edinburgh. Our first visit was to the courant suite, however this time we only stayed in a classic suite, as we were only staying one night.
To start, service at the reception was good with no queues, and the receptionist was pleasant to speak to. When we reached our room, we were immediately impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the layout. Even in the standard room, you still get a kitchen like area with microwave and fridge freezer, also a sink and cutlery/plates. A nice touch, but I cant really see them getting used much, as I doubt too many people stay in the classic suites for more than a few days at a time! But nice all the same.
The bed was quite big and comfortable, but unfortunately the linen was rock solid and very uncomfortable. The rest of the room was to the standard you would expect of a respected company, with a nice large chair and pretty furniture. 32" lcd television with freeview was ok, but we didnt really get many channels, as bbc1 and 2 plus itv and channel 4 werent working.
An addition to the room there is also an iron and ironing board and room safe. A little niggle, was that the iron was broken, as water just poured out of the top, as the lid was absent!
The bathroom was very clean, and had a large shower with rainfall shower head. Great shower! There was also some nice little toiletries and plenty of towels for one nights stay. Also to add the bathroom was really clean, which was very impressive, as so many hotels fail at this point! Lastly on the room, the view was of another wall and the roof of the reception, however, its the classic room, and I wouldnt expect a great view.

For those who dont know Edinburgh very well, the fraser suites is based next to the High court on the royal mile. For tourists you couldnt be in any better a location. Right in the middle of it all.

So to summarise:
Good points-
Very clean
Excellent location
Friendly staff
Nice reception area
Good standard of accomodation

Bad points-
Broken iron
Maybe need decorating in the coming year
Rock solid bed sheet
Got a parking ticket :( ( not related to hotel)

To add we stayed in room 403- classic room. Booked via trivago for £72 for one night (thursday 3rd January)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted you returned to us and I hope you will visit us again very soon. I am pleased to inform you that the points you raised have already been addressed, we are going through a detailed maintenance program and regular checks are done on the rooms in order to keep them in their brilliant condition. The bed linen now matches the high standards of the hotel after a meeting with the supplier, so next time you will see the difference.

Once again, thank you for your review. I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I went to Scotland for Hogmanay. The hotel was in a great location- right off the Royal Mile and everything was in walking distance. The rooms were small but very clean. The bathroom was pretty big. Hotel staff were polite and told us information about the city- even if we called late at night. I felt safe in the hotel; after 10 PM, you can only enter hotel with your key card. The continental breakfast was simple; cereal, cheese and meats. They do offer a hot breakfast, you just have to ask for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind reiview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.