We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Suites Edinburgh to your Saves list
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend and have to say that this hotel is ideally located, my room didn't have any view at all, other than a stone wall, but that didn't detract too much as when I go to visit places I go to look at the city not the hotel room. The room was very clean and modern and had all the facilities you would expect. Bathroom again was clean and big enough. Didn't eat here as when I had a look at the restaurant it just didn't seem that inviting which is why it gets 4 instead of 5.
My only grumble was the room service menu, which on the second night after a very long day exploring we thought it would be nice to relax and enjoy a meal in the room, unfortunately they have decided to not do room service anymore but didn't think to remove the room service menus which was a little bit annoying and no apology.
Would I go back? Probably not, I think that someone else has hit the nail on the head when saying that this place lacks a personality, it feels a bit sterile and in a city full of character this place seems to miss it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your feedback. Please accept my apology for the incorrect communication about room service, we are now in the process of replacing the guest information folder in our rooms.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would ask you to return to us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    380
    119
    52
    21
See reviews for
124
567
52
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Now don't get me wrong, this is a very modern hotel set in the heart of the Old Town. The hotel has some excellent rooms with clean modern furnishings and lovely bathrooms. But it seemed to lack just a little personality. It's a bit hard for me to describe, as I did honestly like the place, but there didn''t seem to be much warmth from the staff or any real feel they wanted me there. I'm sure they did but just didn't get that "click" . Staff just seemed a little cold and not that interested. May have been me I guess!

Avoided the restaurant as was silly Edinburgh prices (£12 for breakfast).

Fantastic small gym though. Nicely equipped and furnished.

Saying all this though, I'd certainly return, as long as I could find a good deal for a room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and planning a return to us and to this beautiful city - please do not leave it too long, Edinburgh will sparkle again within a couple weeks!

With your next booking, I would recommend to check our promotions as we offer great savings on breakfast when booked together with your accommodation.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have always stayed at The Chester Residence when in Edinburgh but decided to choose the Fraser Suites this time in order to be a bit more central. We had a great room, large and light, comfortably furnished with wonderful panoramic views over the city towards the Firth of Forth. It was quiet (apart from the very distant sound of bagpipes on Sat morning - but then what can you expect in auld reekie), warm and clean. The service was good, polite and friendly - prompt delivery of breakfast one morning and good breakfast in the dining room downstairs. Two whinges would be the unemptied bathroom bin - very unpleasant and the shower which obviously needed seeing to as the the water failed to drain properly and filled the tray. It lacked the defining touches that make the Chester Residence No 1; generous provision of lovely shampoo, cotton wool etc a really comfortable bed, spotless cleaning and furnishings in top notch condition - but wins out in being minutes from everything and yet in a quiet side street....and that view!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

it is amazing to have such feedback from a seasoned traveller and to read a statement that highlights that we are among the very best places to stay in Edinburgh.

I am looking forward to your return to Fraser Suites Edinburgh in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated: one block off the Royal Mile, walking distance to all the sites, shopping and restaurants. We flew into Edinburgh and took the "AirLink Bus" to Waverly station. The bus is cheap, has wifi and took about 35 minutes in rush-hour traffic. From there its a short walk (uphill) which we easily did with two large rolling duffles. So glad we didn't stay in New Town with all the construction and road closures- it was a mess!

The rooms were nicely decorated, spotless and quiet. The beds were a little mushy but not horrible.

The staff was very nice but most of them weren't from the area and didn't have specific suggestions for tours or restaurants, but we easily figured that out using the free internet service.

Have scones and coffee/tea at Deacon Brodie's cafe.

Room Tip: The hotel is built into a hill and the lobby is on the 3rd floor (ground entrance), so ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

it is brilliant to receive another fantastic review about a stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, and I thank you for highlighting the location of the hotel, as it is probably the best in Edinburgh. Very central, but still quiet with great views and with history surrounding the place - we are in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage site.

I am delighted you enjoyed the service and the new wifi available to our guests, too.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Fraser suites hotel last weekend to celebrate my wedding anniversary.The hotel is in a fantastic location for all attractions.the hotel is very tastefully decorated and the rooms are very spacious,modern and very clean.The hotel staff are so friendly and more than helpful.I would stay at this hotel again when i next vist scotland as edingburgh is a lovely city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Suerodger444,

it was a pleasure to have you here on your special occasion, and we all hope you will return to us again in the future. Please feel free to contact the hotel, or me directly if you wish to make a reservation. Alternatively, just visit our website for the best available offers.

We are very happy to offer the extra touches for special occasions, so I please get in touch prior to arrival and we would just be too happy to assist!

Best regards,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We have just came back from an amazing stay in Edinburgh and stayed in the FABULOUS Princes Suite! I cannot praise this room and hotel enough, the decor was wonderful an the views were stunning,we even got the wonderful surprise of a welcome hamper containing a few little goodies on entering our room. Staff were very helpful and tended to our needs very quickly. We also used the bistro for breakfast which catered for many different tastes. The location of the hotel is brilliant you are right in the middle of everything,easy access to Edinburgh Castle,Holyrood House,St Giles Cathedral, Princes Street and the vast amount of pubs and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sara S,

thank you very much for another fantastic review. I am delighted you enjoyed staying in our Princes Suite, there are not many rooms in the city from where you can enjoy the view over the city, the Scott Monument and beyond towards the Firth of Forth from your bed!

We have recently changed our breakfast selection and operations, so it is really important to know that you were satisfied with everything in our bistro, too.

I am pleased you are planning to return to us, please do not leave it too long before you do so and visit our website for the best offers and packages.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location of the Fraser Suites was fantastic. We arrived on the train and had no trouble finding the accommodation as it is bang smack in the middle of everything. Upon arrival we were upgraded from the classic room we had booked, to a deluxe one bedroom apartment. The apartment was massive and above and beyond our needs, but was fantastic all the same! We let like royalty :) . Even though our bedroom was right on the steps there was very little noise. The staff were helpful but when we asked where to go to eat they could have had a little more local knowledge, apparently one of the best restaurants in Edinburgh was round the corner but it wasn't recommended. Other than this they were excellent. The location of the hotel was what made it, it's so nice to go to a city and be able to walk everywhere from a central location.

Room Tip: Use booking.com and fingers crossed for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to offer the best possible experience to every guest at Fraser Suites Edinburgh and it is great to know that you felt like royalty when staying with us, this is exactly what we aim for.

As you said, our location cannot be beaten, the hotel stands just above Waverley Station, overlooking Princes Street Gardens and just yards away from the Royal Mile next to the iconic building on The Mound and St Giles Cathedral.

However, I do feel it is our team that makes the difference and I am really grateful for the very positive comments you made about them.

Please do not leave it too long before your return to this beautiful city and feel free to contact me directly with any requests.

Best regards

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.